Healthnews24South Africa's supplement answer desk

How do South African pre-workout brands compare?

Healthnews24 editorial deskUpdated 2 min read
Answer first

South African pre-workouts differ most in transparency, not price. As of October 2026, Biogen Premium Pre-Workout (R399.99–R429.99 for 600 g) and USN Qhush Platinum Black (R489.99–R499, doses on USN's global page) publish the most doses; NPL Blackout and Evox Alpha Surge show none on retailer pages. Imported Cellucor C4 costs about R23–R25 per serving. We compare only what labels and brand pages state.

  • Biogen Premium Pre-Workout (R399.99–R429.99 for 600 g) lists caffeine 150 mg per serving.
  • Cellucor C4 Original costs about R23.30–R25.10 per serving at 30 servings per tub (October 2026).
  • USN XTS Hyperdrive works out at roughly R5.40–R5.88 per 5.3 g scoop, derived from tub size.
  • NPL Blackout and Evox Alpha Surge publish no caffeine figure on their Dis-Chem pages.

How do South African pre-workout brands compare?

The table uses only figures published on brand or retailer pages in October 2026. "Not published" means we could not find the figure, not that it is absent from the physical tub.

Product Price (retailer) Caffeine Other published doses
Biogen Premium 600 g R399.99–R429.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) 150 mg Beta-alanine 3.5 g, citrulline malate 4 g, creatine 3 g
USN Qhush Platinum Black 300 g R489.99–R499 (USN shop) 300 mg (global page; SA tub unconfirmed) Citrulline malate 6 g, beta-alanine 4 g, creatine 3 g
USN XTS Hyperdrive 210 g R214–R232.99 (USN shop) 150 mg headline Dynamine 32.5 mg
Cellucor C4 Original 195 g R699–R752.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) 200 mg (US page) Beta-alanine 2 g
ON Gold Standard 330 g R899.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) Not published Acetyl-L-carnitine 375 mg
NPL Blackout 400 g R599.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) Not published None
Biogen Rage Rampage 400 g R539.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) Present, mg not stated Beta-alanine 3.2 g, arginine 2 g per ~20 g
Evox Alpha Surge 400 g R316.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) Not published None

Which is the best value?

Where servings are stated, Cellucor C4 (30 servings) is R23.30–R25.10 each and Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard (30 servings) is R30. USN XTS Hyperdrive has a 5.3 g scoop, so a 210 g tub holds about 40 servings, roughly R5.40–R5.88 each. That is a derived figure and the lowest we found, but it also has the lowest dose panel. Servings are not stated for most other tubs, so a fair per-serving ranking is not possible.

Which brands are most transparent?

  • Best disclosed: Biogen Premium and USN Qhush Platinum Black print caffeine and the main actives.
  • Partly disclosed: Biogen Rage Rampage and Cellucor C4.
  • Little or nothing online: NPL, Evox and the Clicks and Nutritech house tubs. Read the physical label before buying. See what a proprietary blend means.

What about certification and sweeteners?

Biogen (Informed Sport) and USN (Informed Choice, on XTS Hyperdrive) state third-party testing on their own pages. We did not check these against the certifiers' registers, so treat them as seller claims. SAIDS endorses no brand. NPL, Biogen Rage Rampage and Cellucor C4 use sucralose; USN Qhush Platinum Black uses acesulfame-K and sucralose on its global page.

How should you choose?

  1. Decide whether you want caffeine at all. If not, see best stimulant-free pre-workout.
  2. Compare caffeine per serving with 3 mg/kg of your body weight.
  3. Prefer products that disclose every dose, then compare price.
  4. Drug-tested athletes should read pre-workout banned substances first.

For a ranked list, see best pre-workout in South Africa.

Under-18s and pregnant women should avoid stimulant pre-workouts. If you have high blood pressure, a heart-rhythm problem or kidney disease, or take regular medication, speak to a doctor first.

Products mentioned, with dated prices

ProductSizePriceServingsR per servingSweeteners
Biogen Premium Pre-Workout 600 g600 gR399.99-R429.99Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026——not stated
USN Qhush Platinum Black Pre-Workout 300 g300 gR489.99-R499USN online shop, Oct 2026——Acesulfame-K and sucralose (global page)
USN XTS Hyperdrive Pre-Workout 210 g210 gR214-R232.99USN online shop, Oct 2026—R5.40not stated
Cellucor (C4) Cellucor C4 Original Pre-Workout 195 g195 gR699-R752.99Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202630R25.10Sucralose and acesulfame potassium
NPL Blackout Pre-Workout 400 g400 gR600Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026—R30.00Sucralose
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Pre-Workout 330 g330 gR900Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202630R30.00not stated

Compare the options

Sources

  1. Guest NS et al. (2021) ISSN position stand: caffeine and exercise performance. JISSN
  2. Maughan RJ et al. (2018) IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete. BJSM 52:439
  3. SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check

Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.

Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How do South African pre-workout brands compare?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/pre-workout-brands-compared-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/pre-workout-brands-compared-south-africa.md