What is the best probiotic in South Africa?
No probiotic is best for everyone, because benefits are strain-specific. As of October 2026, Now Foods Probiotic-10 is the most transparent South African option we found (25 billion CFU, ten named strains, R11.25 per capsule on special), while New Leaf is a cheaper single-strain choice at R6.65 per serving. Evidence in athletes is emerging, so match strains to your goal.
- ISSN 2019: probiotic effects are strain-specific and dose-dependent; the AIS places probiotics in Group B (emerging evidence).
- Now Foods Probiotic-10 lists 25 billion CFU and ten named strains; R337.49 on special for 30 capsules, October 2026.
- New Leaf High Strength Probiotic has 2 billion CFU of one strain and costs about R6.65 per serving.
- Of four South African probiotics we checked, only Now Foods states both named strains and CFU per capsule.
Which probiotics did we compare?
Disclosure is uneven, which is the main problem for buyers. Prices are from Faithful to Nature and Dis-Chem Living Fit, October 2026.
| Product | What the label states | Pack and price | Price per serving |
|---|---|---|---|
| New Leaf High Strength Probiotic | 2 billion CFU, one strain (L. acidophilus), 2 tablets daily; no refrigeration needed | 120 tablets, R399 | R6.65 |
| Food Grown Broad Spectrum Probiotic | 10 strains (HOWARU brand), strains not named, CFU not stated, 2 capsules daily | 60 vegecaps, R327 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | R10.90 |
| Now Foods Probiotic-10 | 25 billion CFU, 10 named strains, 1 capsule 1 to 2 times daily; contains FOS | 30 capsules, R337.49 special (R449.99 regular) | R11.25 (R15.00 regular) |
| Klean Nourish Probiotic Blend | 8 strains, "20 billion CFU per gram" (per-capsule CFU not stated) | 30 capsules, R389 | R12.97 |
How should you choose?
The ISSN position stand stresses that probiotic effects are strain-specific and dose-dependent, so a bigger CFU number or more strains does not make a product better. Trials generally use roughly 1 billion to 100 billion CFU a day of named strains. Ask three questions:
- Are the strains named? If a label does not name them, you cannot check the evidence.
- Is the CFU stated per serving, to the end of shelf life? "Per gram" figures like Klean's do not tell you the dose you swallow.
- Does a trial support that strain for your goal? For example, lowering the risk of antibiotic-associated diarrhoea, travel-related stomach upsets or respiratory infections in athletes. Ask a pharmacist or dietitian for strain names that match your goal.
What does the evidence say?
Evidence is emerging. Some strains may modestly reduce the frequency or duration of upper-respiratory infections and gut symptoms in athletes, and may lower the risk of diarrhoea during antibiotic use. Performance effects are inconsistent. The AIS places probiotics in Group B (emerging evidence), to be used with an individual protocol.
What about storage in South African heat?
Viability depends on storage. Check expiry and storage instructions, because summer temperatures in a car, gym bag or non-air-conditioned shop can damage live cultures. New Leaf states that refrigeration is not needed; the Food Grown page shows no refrigeration instruction; we did not see storage instructions for the others in the text we read. Keep the pack cool and dry regardless. See how to store supplements in South African heat.
Who should be careful?
Avoid probiotics, or speak to your doctor first, if you are severely immunosuppressed, critically ill or have a central line. Everyone else can generally take them safely, but if symptoms such as blood in stool, fever or persistent diarrhoea appear, see a doctor rather than self-treating.
Our recommendation: if you want to trial a probiotic, start with a product that names strains and gives CFU per capsule (Now Foods is the only one of the four that does both), take it daily for several weeks, and stop if there is no benefit. Read how to read a supplement label and which supplements actually work.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| New Leaf High Strength CFU Probiotic 120 tablets | 120 tablets | R399Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 60 | R6.65 | not stated |
| Food Grown Broad Spectrum Probiotic 10-strain 60 vegecaps | 60 vegecaps | R327Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | 30 | R10.90 | not stated |
| Now Foods Probiotic-10 25 Billion 30 capsules | 30 capsules | R337.49-R449.99 (special vs regular)Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 30 | R11.25 | not stated |
| Klean Nourish probiotic blend 30 capsules | 30 capsules | R389Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 30 | R12.97 | not stated |
Compare the options
- Best Magnesium Supplement in South Africa 2026: 7 Products Compared
- Best Omega-3 Fish Oil in South Africa 2026: 9 Products Compared
- Best Multivitamin in South Africa 2026: 7 Products Compared
Related questions
- Which supplements actually work and which are a waste of money?
- How should you store supplements in South African summer heat?
- How do you read a supplement label in South Africa?
- Which vitamins and minerals do athletes actually need in South Africa?
- What is the best time to take vitamins and minerals?
Sources
- Jäger et al. 2019, ISSN Position Stand: Probiotics (JISSN)
- Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group B
- Spotlight (14 Aug 2026): Inside the Box with Dr Andy Gray, are complementary medicines effectively regulated in South Africa?
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “What is the best probiotic in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-probiotic-in-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/best-probiotic-in-south-africa.md