How do you read a supplement label in South Africa?
Check four things: the serving size, the nutrition table per 100 g and per serving, the full ingredient list, and the name and South African address of the manufacturer or importer. Under R146, a label must also show allergens, batch and date marking. Work out protein per 100 g to see if a whey tub makes sense.
- R146 requires product name, ingredients, allergens, net quantity, SA manufacturer or importer address, origin, batch and date marking.
- Isolate is typically 85-90 g protein per 100 g of powder; concentrate 70-80 g.
- A University of Pretoria study found measured protein differed significantly from the label in 68.6% of 70 SA products.
- USN BlueLab 1 kg at R689 works out at about R28 per 30 g protein (October 2026).
What must a South African food label show?
Under R146 (the Regulations Relating to the Labelling and Advertising of Foodstuffs, in force as of October 2026), a sports food label must carry:
- Product name and ingredient list
- Allergen declaration (milk, soy and others)
- Net quantity in metric units
- Name and South African address of the manufacturer or importer
- Country of origin
- Batch number and date marking
- A nutrition table, per 100 g and per serving, when any nutrition claim is made
Draft regulations R3337 propose front-of-pack warnings and tighter claim rules, but they are not law and have no publication date. Products sold as health supplements (Category D) must also carry a SAHPRA disclaimer if unregistered, stating the product has not been evaluated for quality, safety or intended use.
How do you check protein?
Divide protein per serving by serving size to get protein as a percentage of the powder, then compare with the type of whey:
| Product (listed data) | Protein / serving | Serving | Protein % of powder |
|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey | 23.6 g | 32 g | about 74% |
| NPL 100% Whey Isolate | 19.9 g | 25 g | about 80% |
| USN Isozero Isolate | 20 g | 23 g | about 87% |
Isolate should sit at roughly 85-90 g per 100 g and concentrate at 70-80 g. A tub labelled isolate with a much lower figure, or a concentrate far above 80%, deserves a closer look. Some Dis-Chem product pages show the nutrition table only as an image, so protein per serving may not be in the text.
What are the red flags?
- Proprietary blends that hide individual doses; see what a proprietary blend is.
- Added free amino acids (glycine, taurine, creatine) in a "whey" product, a sign of amino spiking.
- A tiny serving size that makes a product look cheap or low in sugar.
- Disease claims or "SAHPRA approved"; see is "clinically proven" legal.
- Missing importer address or batch number.
How reliable are protein labels?
A University of Pretoria study of 70 high-protein supplements bought from SA retailers found measured protein differed significantly from the label in 68.6%; 21 held more than 10% less protein than stated, and five were 42-80% under. Brands were not named. A separate study of 15 best-selling SA whey products found 60% did not meet draft amino-acid criteria. Both are older snapshots and the draft criteria are not law, but they explain why third-party certificates of analysis matter.
How do you turn a label into a price?
Rand per 30 g of protein = price divided by (servings in the tub x protein per serving) x 30. For USN BlueLab 1 kg at R689: about 31 servings x 23.6 g = roughly 737 g protein, so about R28 per 30 g. For other supplements, use the dose that matters: R per 5 g creatine, R per 10 g collagen. See how to compare prices per serving.
What about allergens and sweeteners?
Whey contains milk; isolate is low in lactose but not milk-free. Sweeteners (sucralose, acesulfame-K, stevia) are listed by name in the ingredients. If a label does not state a sweetener, the retailer page may still list one, so read the physical pack too. Compare tubs in our best whey protein guide.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| NPL 100% Whey Protein Isolate (700 g) | 700 g | R900NPL shop (npl.za.com), Oct 2026 | R48.46 | R128.57 | sucralose |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
Related questions
- What do South African labelling rules say about supplements?
- What is protein spiking and how do you avoid it in South Africa?
- How do you compare supplement prices fairly?
- What is a proprietary blend and why can it be a red flag?
- How do you choose a protein powder in South Africa?
Sources
- ASC Food Safety Training: Food labelling regulations in South Africa, what R146 actually requires
- SAFOODS (SAMRC): Labelling regulations overview
- Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius 2019, High protein sports supplements: protein quality and label compliance (J Food Compos Anal 83:103293)
- University of Pretoria (Jul 2021): Muscle-building shakes don't always have as much protein as they claim
- Daily Maverick (7 Oct 2026): Three years, 6,000 pages, no labels, who's stalling SA's food warnings?
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How do you read a supplement label in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-to-read-a-supplement-label-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/how-to-read-a-supplement-label-south-africa.md