Healthnews24South Africa's supplement answer desk

How much do BCAA and EAA supplements cost in South Africa?

Healthnews24 editorial deskUpdated 2 min read
Answer first

As of October 2026, BCAA and EAA powders cost about R8–R14 per 10 g of powder in South Africa: from R8.33 (NPL BCAA EAA 600 g, R499.99) to R13.83 (Nutritech All Day BCAA 5000 180 g, R249). A 10 g daily habit costs roughly R250–R415 a month. Amino grams per scoop are rarely published, so these are powder-weight figures.

  • BCAA and EAA powders cost R8.33–R13.83 per 10 g of powder across the products we priced (October 2026).
  • NPL's 600 g BCAA EAA tub is R8.33 per 10 g versus R11.83 for the 300 g tub.
  • USN Amino Energy ranges from R259 (USN shop) to R324.99 (Dis-Chem), a gap of more than 25%.
  • A 10 g daily dose costs roughly R250–R415 a month depending on product.

How much do BCAA and EAA supplements cost in South Africa?

We priced nine products from brand shops and retailers in October 2026. Most listings do not state grams of amino acids per scoop in text, so the fair comparison is Rand per 10 g of powder. That includes flavouring and any added ingredients, so treat it as a ceiling on the cost of the aminos themselves.

Product Price (retailer) R per 10 g powder 30 days at 10 g
NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 600 g R499.99 (Dis-Chem) R8.33 R250
USN Amino Energy 300 g R259 (USN shop) to R324.99 (Dis-Chem) R8.63–R10.83 R259–R325
Evox BCAA 12:1:1 + Glutamine 330 g R294.99 (Dis-Chem) R8.94 R268
USN BCAA Super 12:1:1 315 g R299–R314.99 R9.49–R10.00 R285–R300
USN ALL9 Amino 330 g R359.95–R362.99 (USN shop) R10.91–R11.00 R327–R330
Clicks BCAA Formula 180 g R199 (Clicks) R11.06 R332
Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g R399.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) R11.11 R333
NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 g R354.99 (Dis-Chem) R11.83 R355
Nutritech All Day BCAA 5000 180 g R249 (Clicks) R13.83 R415

Why do prices differ so much?

  • Tub size. NPL's 600 g tub is R8.33 per 10 g against R11.83 for the 300 g.
  • Retailer. USN Amino Energy ranges from R259 on the USN shop to R324.99 at Dis-Chem, a gap of more than 25%. Price gaps above 10% are common between a brand's shop, Takealot and Dis-Chem.
  • Contents. BCAA-only powders are not interchangeable with EAA mixes, and Evox includes glutamine.

PriceCheck snapshots carry no date, so confirm the price at checkout.

Is it good value compared with whey?

Usually not. NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490, NPL shop) costs R23.52 per 30 g of protein, and it supplies all nine essential amino acids and protein. About 10–15 g of EAAs with 2–3 g of leucine matches roughly 20–25 g of whey, so a daily EAA dose costs roughly the same as a whey serving without the extra protein.

Do you need them at all?

If you eat 1.4–2.0 g of protein per kg a day, BCAAs add nothing meaningful, and the AIS classes them as Group C. See do BCAAs work if you eat enough protein and BCAA vs EAA in South Africa.

How can you spend less?

  1. Buy the biggest tub you will finish.
  2. Compare the brand shop, Takealot and Dis-Chem before checkout.
  3. Check the serving size; a cheap tub with a 5 g scoop may cost more per dose.
  4. Consider whey for your amino needs; see best whey protein.
  5. Ask whether you need a product at all; best BCAA and best EAA rank the options.

If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.

Products mentioned, with dated prices

ProductSizePriceSweeteners
NPL BCAA EAA 12:1:1 300 g300 gR355Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026not stated
USN BCAA Super 12:1:1 315 g315 gR299-R314.99USN online shop, Oct 2026Not stated; page says zero sugar, zero sodium, stimulant-free
USN ALL9 Amino 330 g330 gR359.95-R362.99USN online shop, Oct 2026not stated
Biogen Complete 9 Aminos 360 g360 gR400Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026not stated
Evox BCAA 12:1:1 + Glutamine 330 g330 gR295Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026not stated
Clicks (house brand) Clicks BCAA Formula 180 g180 gR199Clicks (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026not stated

Compare the options

Sources

  1. Wolfe RR (2017) Branched-chain amino acids and muscle protein synthesis in humans: myth or reality? JISSN
  2. Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN
  3. Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group C (not advocated)

Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.

Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How much do BCAA and EAA supplements cost in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-do-bcaa-and-eaa-supplements-cost-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/how-much-do-bcaa-and-eaa-supplements-cost-south-africa.md