Best Whey Protein in South Africa 2026: 10 Tubs Compared
The best-value whey protein in South Africa in October 2026 is USN BlueLab 100% Whey 1 kg at R689, which works out to about R28 per 30 g of protein (23.6 g per 32 g scoop). Evox Whey Advanced 2 kg is close behind at about R30. We rank on Rand per 30 g of protein from the published label, then on ingredient simplicity. For no sweeteners at all, ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Concentrate (R800 per 1 kg, single ingredient) is the clean-label pick, though ATP does not yet publish protein per serving. Expect to pay R28–R51 per 30 g protein.
2026 at a glance: ranked on R per 30 g protein; tubs without a published protein figure follow, on label simplicity
- USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) Best value overallR689 for 1 kg with 23.6 g protein per 32 g scoop works out to R28.03 per 30 g protein, the lowest of the pure-whey tubs we could calculate.
- Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (2 kg) Best big-tub buyR1 430 for 2 kg at 23 g protein per 32 g scoop gives R29.84 per 30 g protein, for people who go through a tub a month.
- NPL Platinum Whey (908 g) Best mainstream flavoured blendR700 for 908 g with 22.5 g protein per 32 g scoop is R32.89 per 30 g protein; contains sucralose.
- USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) Best value isolate20 g protein in a 23 g scoop (87% protein) for R899 gives R38.53 per 30 g protein with almost no carbohydrate.
- Lifestyle Food Whey Protein Concentrate Unflavoured (500 g) Unsweetened, protein publishedSingle-ingredient concentrate listing 15.2 g protein per 20 g scoop; R500 for 500 g is R39.47 per 30 g protein.
- Biogen Iso Whey Premium (750 g) Dis-Chem staple20.9 g protein per 30 g scoop for R765 is R43.92 per 30 g protein; a blend despite the 'Iso' name.
- Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg) Best-known import23 g protein per 30 g scoop for R1 300 per kg is R50.87 per 30 g protein, about 80% more than USN BlueLab.
- ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate Our clean-label pickSingle-ingredient concentrate at R800 per kg in the ATP shop (R80 per 100 g powder); protein per serving not published, so it follows every tub that publishes it.
- ATP Fitness Grass-fed Madagascan Vanilla Whey Protein Isolate Grass-fed, unsweetenedGrass-fed isolate with real Madagascan vanilla and no sweetener; R1 050 for 18 servings is R58.33 per serving.
- Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g) Premium importR1 150 for 900 g (R127.78 per 100 g powder); 24 g protein per scoop but scoop weight not stated on the SA listing.
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Disclosure and method.
Comparison table
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated | Best value overall |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (2 kg) | 2 kg | R1 430Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | R29.84 | R71.50 | not stated | Best big-tub buy |
| NPL Platinum Whey (908 g) | 908 g | R700NPL shop (npl.za.com), Oct 2026 | — | R32.89 | R77.09 | sucralose | Best mainstream flavoured blend |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated | Best value isolate |
| Lifestyle Food Whey Protein Concentrate Unflavoured (500 g) | 500 g | R500Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | R39.47 | R100.00 | none listed | Unsweetened, protein published |
| Biogen Iso Whey Premium (750 g) | 750 g | R765Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), Oct 2026 | — | R43.92 | R102.00 | not stated | Dis-Chem staple |
| Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R1 300Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | R50.87 | R130.00 | sucralose | Best-known import |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | — | R80.00 | None | Our clean-label pick |
| ATP Fitness Grass-fed Madagascan Vanilla Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R1 050ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | 18 | — | R131.25 | None | Grass-fed, unsweetened |
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g) | 900 g | R1 150Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | — | R127.78 | not stated | Premium import |
Prices are dated retail observations (October 2026) from the named South African retailers, not offers. Brand shops and Dis-Chem usually match; the big gaps are on Takealot: an undated PriceCheck snapshot showed ATP Fitness unflavoured whey 20–22% below the ATP shop price, and USN's plant tub was 16% below Dis-Chem. The table uses brand-shop or Dis-Chem prices. Check the live listing before you buy.
How much whey do you actually need?
The International Society of Sports Nutrition (ISSN) recommends 1.4–2.0 g of protein per kg of body weight per day for most people who train, spread over meals of roughly 20–40 g each. A Morton et al. 2018 meta-analysis of 49 trials found protein supplements added about 0.3 kg of lean mass on average during resistance training, with benefits levelling off around 1.6 g/kg/day.
For an 80 kg lifter that is 112–160 g a day. Most people get the bulk from food (chicken, eggs, maas, biltong, pilchards) and use one or two scoops to close the gap. Whey is a convenience food, not a requirement: evidence level for whey as a protein source is strong, but total daily protein matters far more than the brand or the timing.
What is a fair price for whey in South Africa?
Judge a tub by Rand per 30 g of protein, not Rand per tub. Divide the price by (servings x protein per serving), then multiply by 30.
| Price band (Oct 2026) | Typical products | R per 30 g protein |
|---|---|---|
| Budget blends | Black Bull, Nutritech Heavy Duty, USN Hydrotech (R259–R418 per ~900 g) | often not published, or blends with non-whey protein |
| Mainstream local whey | USN BlueLab, Evox Advanced, NPL Platinum | R28–R33 |
| Isolates | USN Isozero, NPL Isolate | R39–R48 |
| Imports | Myprotein Impact, Optimum Nutrition | R51 and up |
Local 0.9–1 kg tubs run roughly R260–R700, while imported Optimum Nutrition and Myprotein sit at R1 150–R1 300. A University of Pretoria study found that 21 of 70 SA protein products held more than 10% less protein than labelled, so a cheap price is only a bargain if the label is honest.
Concentrate, isolate or blend: does it matter?
Per gram of protein, concentrate (WPC) and isolate (WPI) build muscle equally well. The differences are practical:
- Concentrate is typically 70–80% protein, creamier and cheaper, with some lactose (roughly 3–8% in WPC80).
- Isolate is filtered further to about 90% protein on a dry basis with very little lactose (typically under 1%), which suits lactose-sensitive people and those cutting.
- Blends mix concentrate, isolate and hydrolysate. Read the ingredient list: several local 'whey' tubs also contain soy, pea, wheat or egg protein, creatine or taurine.
The 'Iso' in a product name does not make it an isolate. Biogen Iso Whey Premium, for example, lists concentrate alongside isolate.
Brand by brand
1. USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)
1 kg | R689 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | R per 30 g protein: R28.03 | R per 100 g powder: R68.90
USN's BlueLab blends isolate, hydrolysate and concentrate and lists 23.6 g protein per 32 g scoop, about 74% protein by weight. At R689 for 1 kg from the USN shop, that is R28.03 per 30 g protein, the lowest figure we could calculate for a pure-whey tub in October 2026. It comes in around 15 flavours, is stocked at Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot, and USN's product page states Informed Choice certification (we did not check the register). The page says there are no added active ingredients, which keeps it a straightforward protein shake rather than a stack.
Strengths
- Lowest verified R per 30 g protein among pure-whey tubs (R28.03)
- Wide flavour range and national retail availability
- Informed Choice certification stated by USN
Trade-offs
- Sweeteners are not named in the web page text; check the tub label
- Informed Choice is retail-sampled, not batch-tested like Informed Sport
- Flavoured blend, so not suited to people avoiding sweeteners
2. Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (2 kg)
2 kg | R1 430 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | R per 30 g protein: R29.84 | R per 100 g powder: R71.50
Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced lists 23 g protein per serving, with a 32 g serving taken from a South African label database because the Dis-Chem page does not print the scoop weight. At R1 430 for 2 kg, that gives R29.84 per 30 g protein, only about R1.80 more than USN BlueLab. The 908 g tub (R670) costs R30.80 per 30 g protein, so the 2 kg saves little per gram; buy it for convenience rather than a big discount. It is a three-source whey blend with added glutamine and the lactase enzyme Tolerase L.
Strengths
- R29.84 per 30 g protein in the 2 kg tub
- Added lactase enzyme may help mildly lactose-sensitive users
- Easy to find at Dis-Chem
Trade-offs
- Scoop weight is not printed on the Dis-Chem page, so the serving figure is from a label database
- Only two flavours listed at Dis-Chem
- No third-party certification stated on the listing
3. NPL Platinum Whey (908 g)
908 g | R700 (NPL shop (npl.za.com), 2026-10) | R per 30 g protein: R32.89 | R per 100 g powder: R77.09
NPL Platinum Whey is a concentrate, isolate and hydrolysate blend with digestive enzymes. NPL's nutrition table lists 22.5 g protein per 32 g serving (the headline says 23 g), which at R700 for 908 g is R32.89 per 30 g protein. Dis-Chem matches the NPL shop price. It is sweetened with sucralose. NPL describes the product as third-party lab tested but does not name a certifier, which is weaker than a scheme listing you can look up. The cheaper NPL Platinum Whey Plus (R490 per kg) works out at about R23.50 per 30 g protein, but it adds pea, rice and egg protein, so it is not a pure whey.
Strengths
- Clear nutrition table with 22.5 g per scoop
- Same price at the NPL shop and Dis-Chem
- Four flavours
Trade-offs
- Sucralose-sweetened
- 'Third-party lab tested' claim names no certifier
- R4.86 more per 30 g protein than USN BlueLab
4. USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g)
805 g | R899-R909.99 (USN shop (za.usn.global), 2026-10) | R per 30 g protein: R38.53 | R per 100 g powder: R111.68
USN Isozero is the most protein-dense tub we could verify: 20 g protein in a 23 g scoop (about 87%), with zero sugar and carbohydrate stated. At R899 for 805 g it costs R38.53 per 30 g protein, the cheapest isolate per gram of protein that publishes its figures. Choose it if lactose bothers you or you are cutting and want protein without extra carbohydrate. USN lists added digestive enzymes and states Informed Choice certification on the page. A double serving of 46 g gives 40 g protein.
Strengths
- 87% protein by weight
- Cheapest verified isolate at R38.53 per 30 g protein
- Low lactose, zero sugar stated
Trade-offs
- About 37% more per 30 g protein than USN BlueLab concentrate blend
- Sweeteners not named in the web text
- Only three flavours
5. Lifestyle Food Whey Protein Concentrate Unflavoured (500 g)
500 g | R500 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | R per 30 g protein: R39.47 | R per 100 g powder: R100.00
Lifestyle Food's unflavoured whey concentrate is the other single-ingredient, unsweetened whey on SA shelves, and it publishes its protein: 15.2 g per 20 g scoop, or 76%. At R500 for 500 g at Dis-Chem that is R39.47 per 30 g protein and R100 per 100 g of powder. It is the right buy if you want an unsweetened whey with a printed nutrition panel and you shop at Dis-Chem. The small 500 g tub is the main drawback: per gram of powder it costs 25% more than ATP's 1 kg unflavoured concentrate.
Strengths
- Single ingredient with published protein (76%)
- Available at Dis-Chem
- No sweetener
Trade-offs
- Small 500 g tub, R100 per 100 g powder
- No third-party certification stated
6. Biogen Iso Whey Premium (750 g)
750 g | R765 (Biogen shop (biogen.co.za), 2026-10) | R per 30 g protein: R43.92 | R per 100 g powder: R102.00
Biogen Iso Whey Premium is one of Dis-Chem's best-known tubs. It lists 20.9 g protein per 30 g scoop (about 70%), which at R765 for 750 g is R43.92 per 30 g protein. Despite the name, the ingredient list includes concentrate as well as isolate and hydrolysate, so treat it as a blend. Biogen shows an Informed Protein logo and states Informed Choice certification on the page (not checked against the register). Biogen is also a Springbok rugby sponsor, which is a marketing relationship, not a quality certification.
Strengths
- Informed Choice certification stated by Biogen
- Easy to find at Dis-Chem
- Clear protein figure per scoop
Trade-offs
- About 57% more per 30 g protein than USN BlueLab
- 'Iso' name but a blend with concentrate
- Sweeteners not named in page text
7. Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg)
1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | R per 30 g protein: R50.87 | R per 100 g powder: R130.00
Myprotein Impact Whey is a UK whey concentrate listing 23 g protein per 30 g serving. In South Africa it sells at Dis-Chem for R1 300 per kg, which is R50.87 per 30 g protein, about 80% more than USN BlueLab. Myprotein is cheaper in the UK; import duty, freight and the exchange rate explain the gap. It is sucralose-sweetened and Dis-Chem lists only two flavours, although the brand makes many more abroad. Dis-Chem's page states Informed Choice certification. Buy it only if you prefer the taste.
Strengths
- High protein density for a concentrate (77%)
- Informed Choice certification stated on the Dis-Chem page
- Consistent, well-known product
Trade-offs
- R50.87 per 30 g protein, among the highest here
- Sucralose-sweetened
- Only two flavours stocked at Dis-Chem
8. ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate
1 kg | R800 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | R per 100 g powder: R80.00
ATP Fitness, a Cape Town brand established in 2024, sells a single-ingredient whey protein concentrate: no sweetener, no flavouring, no thickeners. At R800 per kg in the ATP shop it is R80 per 100 g of powder, and an undated PriceCheck snapshot showed it at R639 on Takealot (R63.90 per 100 g). That makes it 20% cheaper per gram of powder than the only other unsweetened concentrate we found (Lifestyle Food, R100 per 100 g). The catch: ATP does not publish protein per serving, so R per 30 g protein cannot be calculated yet and it is listed after every tub that publishes one. It is the tub to buy if you want to sweeten and flavour your own shakes, oats or baking. A Belgian cocoa version (R850) uses cocoa only.
Strengths
- One ingredient, no sweeteners or flavour system
- R80 per 100 g powder in the ATP shop
- Neutral base for cooking, oats and smoothies
Trade-offs
- Protein per serving is not published on the ATP shop or Takealot listing, so R per 30 g protein cannot be computed yet.
- Plain dairy taste; you add your own flavour
- Young brand (established 2024) with a smaller retail footprint than USN, Evox or Biogen: sold mainly online (ATP shop, Takealot, Amazon) and through gyms.
9. ATP Fitness Grass-fed Madagascan Vanilla Whey Protein Isolate
800 g | R1 050 (ATP Fitness shop, 2026-10) | R per 100 g powder: R131.25
ATP's Grass-fed Madagascan Vanilla isolate is made from 100% grass-fed whey protein isolate (Irish origin) and real Madagascan vanilla, with no sweetener and no artificial flavouring. It is one of the few grass-fed isolates sold in South Africa. At R1 050 for 800 g and 18 stated servings, it costs R58.33 per serving (R131.25 per 100 g powder). Because ATP does not publish protein per serving, we cannot give a R per 30 g protein figure. Buy it for the label and the grass-fed sourcing, not for the lowest price per gram. Biogen Grass Fed Whey (R774.99 for 750 g, R103.33 per 100 g; whey type and sweeteners not stated in the page text) is a cheaper grass-fed option.
Strengths
- Grass-fed isolate with two ingredients: whey isolate and vanilla
- No sweeteners or artificial flavour
- Isolate format suits lactose-sensitive users
Trade-offs
- Protein per serving is not published on the ATP shop or Takealot listing, so R per 30 g protein cannot be computed yet.
- Unsweetened, so it tastes plain and noticeably less sweet than mainstream shakes.
- No third-party sport certification (such as Informed Sport) is published as of October 2026, which matters if you are drug-tested.
10. Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g)
900 g | R1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit, 2026-10) | R per 100 g powder: R127.78
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard is the world's best-known whey brand. Dis-Chem lists the 900 g tub at R1 150 with 24 g protein per rounded scoop, but the scoop weight is not given, so R per 30 g protein cannot be calculated from the SA listing. Per 100 g of powder it costs R127.78, about 85% more than USN BlueLab. You pay for the name and the US supply chain. If you like the taste and can absorb the premium, it is a reliable product; on value it ranks last here.
Strengths
- 24 g protein per serving stated
- Seven flavours listed at Dis-Chem
- Long track record internationally
Trade-offs
- R127.78 per 100 g powder
- Scoop weight and whey type not stated on the SA listing
- Larger 2.27 kg tub is R2 400–R2 500
Worked example: why the cheapest tub is not always the cheapest protein
The lowest R per 30 g protein we calculated for any whey-based product was USN Hardcore Whey gH 1 kg at about R16.46 (27 g protein per 33 g scoop, R449). We did not rank it, because it also contains creatine, taurine and Tribulus terrestris. The Australian Institute of Sport lists Tribulus among high-risk herbal 'testosterone boosters' for drug-tested athletes, and 82% protein by weight looks high for a product with added creatine.
| Product | Price | Protein per scoop | R per 30 g protein |
|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 1 kg | R689 | 23.6 g / 32 g | R28.03 |
| Evox Advanced 2 kg | R1 430 | 23 g / 32 g | R29.84 |
| NPL Platinum 908 g | R700 | 22.5 g / 32 g | R32.89 |
| USN Isozero 805 g | R899 | 20 g / 23 g | R38.53 |
| Lifestyle WPC 500 g | R500 | 15.2 g / 20 g | R39.47 |
| Myprotein Impact 1 kg | R1 300 | 23 g / 30 g | R50.87 |
Formula: price / (tub grams / scoop grams x protein per scoop) x 30.
Label accuracy, amino spiking and anti-doping in South Africa
Two peer-reviewed South African studies are worth knowing. The University of Pretoria (Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius, 2019) tested 70 protein products: 68.6% differed significantly from the label and five held 42–80% less protein than claimed. Naidoo et al. (2018) found 9 of 15 best-selling whey products failed draft amino-acid criteria. Neither study named brands.
'Amino spiking' means adding cheap free amino acids such as glycine or taurine, which inflate a nitrogen-based protein test. Check the ingredient list for free amino acids in a 'whey' product.
If you are tested under SAIDS (school rugby, provincial or national sport), strict liability applies: a contaminated shake is your responsibility. SAIDS does not approve any supplement. Choose batch-tested products (Informed Sport) and check the batch on the scheme's register.
Storing whey in South African heat
Whey powder is shelf-stable and needs no fridge, which helps during power cuts. Keep the lid sealed, store it in a cool, dry cupboard, and do not leave tubs in a hot car or garage in a Highveld or Lowveld summer: heat and humidity cause clumping and stale flavours. Use a dry scoop. Mixed shakes should be drunk within a few hours or refrigerated.
How we compared
- We listed every whey tub with a dated October 2026 price from a named South African retailer (brand shop, Dis-Chem Living Fit, Clicks or Takealot via PriceCheck).
- Where the label publishes protein per scoop and scoop weight, we calculated Rand per 30 g of protein. That is the primary ranking measure.
- We then weighed ingredient simplicity: no added non-whey proteins, stimulants or herbal 'boosters', and whether sweeteners are used.
- Products without a published protein figure (ATP Fitness, Optimum Nutrition) cannot be ranked on the primary measure, so they are listed after every tub that publishes one, ordered by label simplicity, and we say so on each entry.
- Certification claims are reported as the brand states them; we did not verify them against certifier registers unless noted.
- Rankings follow our published method. ATP Fitness is a commercial partner; its tubs sit below every whey that publishes protein per serving until ATP publishes that figure.
Which should you choose?
Lowest cost per gram of protein
USN BlueLab 100% Whey 1 kg: R28.03 per 30 g protein with a clear label.
One tub for the whole month
Evox Whey Advanced 2 kg: R29.84 per 30 g protein in a 2 kg tub.
No sweeteners, single ingredient
ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Concentrate: Whey only, R80 per 100 g powder; add your own flavour.
Lactose-sensitive or cutting
USN Isozero: 87% protein, zero sugar stated, R38.53 per 30 g protein.
Grass-fed and unsweetened
ATP Fitness Grass-fed Madagascan Vanilla Isolate: Grass-fed isolate plus real vanilla, R58.33 per serving.
Shop only at Dis-Chem, unsweetened
Lifestyle Food Unflavoured WPC: Single ingredient with published protein, R39.47 per 30 g protein.
When it is not worth it
Imported tubs on brand name alone
Optimum Nutrition and Myprotein cost roughly 80% more per gram than the best local tubs. Unless you prefer the taste, local whey delivers the same protein for less.
Whey with testosterone-booster herbs
Tubs with Tribulus or similar herbs add contamination risk for tested athletes and no proven muscle benefit. Buy whey and creatine separately if you want both.
Whey if you already hit your protein target
If food already gives you 1.4–2.0 g/kg a day, extra shakes add cost, not muscle.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest whey protein per serving in South Africa?
Among pure-whey tubs that publish their protein, USN BlueLab 100% Whey 1 kg was cheapest at about R28 per 30 g protein in October 2026, followed by Evox Whey Advanced 2 kg at about R30. Budget tubs such as Black Bull (R299 for 908 g) cost less per tub, but their protein per scoop was not published in the listings we checked.
Is local whey as good as imported whey?
Per gram of protein, yes, provided the label is accurate. Local brands such as USN, Evox and NPL publish similar protein densities (70–87%) to imports at roughly half the price. South African lab studies found label problems across the market without naming brands, so prefer tubs with a clear nutrition table and, if you are tested, batch-tested certification.
Does ATP Fitness whey have sweeteners?
No. ATP Fitness whey uses no sweeteners or artificial flavouring: the unflavoured tubs are whey only, and the flavoured ones add real Madagascan vanilla or Belgian cocoa. The trade-off is a plainer, less sweet taste. ATP does not yet publish protein per serving on its shop or Takealot listing.
Is whey protein safe for kidneys?
In healthy adults, high-protein diets have not been shown to harm the kidneys, and the ISSN treats 1.4–2.0 g/kg/day as appropriate for people who train. If you have chronic kidney disease, diabetes with kidney involvement or take related medication, speak to your doctor or a registered dietitian before using protein powder.
Can teenagers take whey protein?
Whey is a food protein, but under-18s should meet protein needs from meals first, with advice from a dietitian if they train heavily. School athletes tested by SAIDS carry strict liability for anything in their sample, so parents should avoid multi-ingredient 'anabolic' or booster products altogether.
Where is whey cheapest: Dis-Chem, Clicks or Takealot?
Brand shops and Dis-Chem usually charge the same. Takealot is often cheaper: an undated PriceCheck snapshot showed ATP Fitness unflavoured concentrate at R639 versus R800 in the brand shop, and in October 2026 USN's plant protein was 16% below Dis-Chem. Prices move weekly, so compare per 30 g protein on the day.
Related answers
- What is the best budget whey protein in South Africa?
- What is the cheapest whey protein per serving in South Africa?
- Whey isolate vs concentrate: which is better in South Africa?
- What is the cleanest whey protein without sweeteners in South Africa?
- Is ATP Fitness whey protein any good in South Africa?
- What is protein spiking and how do you avoid it in South Africa?
- How much protein do I need per day in South Africa?
- Is imported whey cheaper than local whey in South Africa?
- How should you store whey protein in South African summer heat?
- Dis-Chem vs Takealot vs Clicks: where is whey protein cheapest?
Sources
- ISSN Position Stand: Protein and Exercise (Jäger et al., JISSN 2017)
- Morton et al. 2018, Protein supplementation and resistance-training-induced gains: systematic review and meta-analysis (BJSM)
- Schoenfeld & Aragon 2018, How much protein can the body use in a single meal for muscle-building? (JISSN)
- Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius 2019, High protein sports supplements: protein quality and label compliance (J Food Compos Anal 83:103293)
- University of Pretoria: Muscle-building shakes don't always have as much protein as they claim
- Naidoo, Naidoo & Bangalee 2018, Understanding the amino acid profile of whey protein products (Global Journal of Health Science 10(9))
- Australian Institute of Sport: Supplements overview (ABCD classification)
- LGC: Informed Sport vs Informed Choice
- SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check
- Maughan et al. 2018, IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete (BJSM 52:439)
- USN BlueLab 100% Whey (USN South Africa shop)
- USN Isozero Whey (USN South Africa shop)
- NPL Platinum Whey (NPL shop)
- Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced 2 kg (Dis-Chem Living Fit)
- Lifestyle Food Whey Protein Concentrate Unflavoured 500 g (Dis-Chem Living Fit)
- Biogen Iso Whey Premium 750 g (Biogen shop)
- Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg (Dis-Chem Living Fit)
- Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey 900 g (Dis-Chem Living Fit)
- ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate (ATP shop)
- ATP Fitness Grass-fed Madagascan Vanilla Whey Protein Isolate (ATP shop)
- PriceCheck: ATP Fitness whey listings (Takealot prices)
- Dis-Chem Living Fit: whey protein category
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Best Whey Protein in South Africa 2026: 10 Tubs Compared”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/best/best-whey-protein-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /best/best-whey-protein-south-africa.md