How much omega-3 should you take?
Most healthy adults are covered by about 250 mg of EPA plus DHA a day (EFSA reference), which oily fish such as sardines, pilchards or salmon can supply. Athletes and people who eat little fish often use 1 to 2 g a day. EFSA regards up to 5 g a day as safe, but high doses can affect bleeding, so check with a doctor if you take blood thinners.
- EFSA's reference intake for adults is 250 mg of EPA plus DHA a day; EFSA regards up to about 5 g a day as safe.
- ISSN 2025: about 1.4 g a day of extra EPA plus DHA raises the omega-3 index from 4.4% to 8%.
- FDA says labels should not recommend more than 2 g a day of EPA plus DHA.
- As of October 2026, 1 g of EPA plus DHA costs R7.22 to R10.55 on budget South African fish oils.
How much EPA and DHA do different people take?
No official recommended intake exists for EPA plus DHA in the US, so guidance comes from several bodies. Per the NIH summary:
| Situation | Reference amount of EPA plus DHA per day |
|---|---|
| Healthy adults | 250 mg (EFSA) |
| Pregnancy | 250 mg plus an extra 100 to 200 mg of DHA |
| Established coronary heart disease | about 1 g, preferably from oily fish (AHA) |
| Athletes and trial doses | commonly 1 to 2 g; trials range about 0.9 to 6 g |
| Raising the omega-3 index from 4.4% to 8% | about 1.4 g a day extra (ISSN 2025) |
Heart-disease and high-triglyceride doses should be set by a doctor. Pregnant women should discuss supplements with their clinician.
What does that mean in capsules and rand?
The label amount that counts is EPA plus DHA per softgel. For 1 g a day, using shelf labels in October 2026:
| Product | Softgels for 1 g | Cost per day |
|---|---|---|
| Biolife Fish Oil (300 mg each) | about 3.3 | R7.22 |
| Now Ultra Omega 3 (750 mg each) | about 1.3 | R7.66 on special |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme (600 mg each) | about 1.7 | R8.06 |
| Dis-Chem Gold Salmon Oil+ (200 mg each) | 5 | R10.55 |
At the 250 mg reference intake, the daily cost drops to roughly R1.80 to R2.60 on the same products. See the best omega-3 fish oil in South Africa for the full table.
Is there a safe upper limit?
No formal tolerable upper level is set. EFSA considers long-term intakes up to about 5 g a day of EPA plus DHA safe. The FDA regards supplements up to 5 g a day as safe but says labels should not recommend more than 2 g. Two large trials found that 4 g a day over several years slightly raised the risk of atrial fibrillation, so higher is not always better.
Who should check with a doctor?
- Anyone on warfarin, aspirin or other blood thinners. Doses of 2 to 15 g a day can prolong bleeding time. Warfarin at 3 to 6 g a day usually did not change anticoagulation significantly in reviews, but doctors may monitor INR.
- People having surgery, who may be asked to pause.
- People with fish allergy, who should consider algae oil.
- Under-18s, who should get omega-3 from food first.
Does more omega-3 build muscle or speed recovery?
Evidence is moderate and inconsistent. Omega-3 may reduce perceived soreness and may support strength gains with sufficient dose and duration, but the ISSN says it is unlikely to add muscle size in young adults. It may help athletes in contact sports who eat little oily fish, such as rugby players, though that is experimental.
How to take it
Take omega-3 with a meal that contains fat, and be consistent for weeks. If fishy burps bother you, split the dose, freeze softgels, or choose a more concentrated product. See also fish oil vs krill oil vs algae oil, omega-3 for heart and brain ageing and our best omega-3 page. The AIS lists fish oil in Group B.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Biolife Fish Oil 1000 mg 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R195Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 45 | R4.33 | not stated |
| Now Foods Ultra Omega 3 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R516.75-R689 (special vs regular)Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 90 | R5.74 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme 60 softgels | 60 softgels | R290Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | 30 | R9.67 | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Salmon Oil+ 1000 mg 90 softgels | 90 softgels | R190Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | 36 | R5.28 | not stated |
Compare the options
- Best Magnesium Supplement in South Africa 2026: 7 Products Compared
- Best Omega-3 Fish Oil in South Africa 2026: 9 Products Compared
- Best Multivitamin in South Africa 2026: 7 Products Compared
Related questions
- What is the best omega-3 fish oil in South Africa?
- Fish oil vs krill oil vs algae oil: which is best?
- Does omega-3 help with ageing?
- What is the best vegan omega-3 in South Africa?
- Which supplements are not safe during pregnancy in South Africa?
Sources
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements: Omega-3 fatty acids, health professional fact sheet
- Jäger et al. 2025, ISSN Position Stand: long-chain omega-3 polyunsaturated fatty acids (JISSN 22:2441775)
- Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group B
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How much omega-3 should you take?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-omega-3-should-i-take/. Plain-text version: /answers/how-much-omega-3-should-i-take.md