Is USN creatine monohydrate any good in South Africa?
USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate is a solid mainstream choice in South Africa: micronised, sold in 200 g, 300 g and 410 g tubs, widely stocked, and tagged vegan and halaal on USN's shop. As of October 2026 it costs about R4.98 per 5 g at 300 g (R279 to R299). It is not the cheapest, and no third-party testing is stated for it.
- USN Pure Creatine 300 g is R279 to R299 (about R4.98 per 5 g); 200 g is R5.47 per 5 g (October 2026).
- The 410 g tub ranges from R269 at Faithful to Nature to R439.99 at Dis-Chem, a gap above 60%.
- USN's shop tags Pure Creatine as Halaal and Vegan; no third-party testing is stated for it.
- USN CreaTest is a different product with D-aspartic acid and ashwagandha, not pure monohydrate.
What is USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate?
USN is a South African sports nutrition brand. Its Pure Creatine Monohydrate is described as micronised creatine monohydrate, dosed at about one teaspoon (roughly 5 g) per serving, and sold in 200 g, 300 g and 410 g tubs. We read the sales listings rather than the label itself, so confirm the ingredient panel on your tub. Creatine monohydrate is an AIS Group A supplement with an ISSN maintenance dose of 3-5 g a day.
How much does it cost?
| Pack | Price (October 2026) | R per 5 g | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| 200 g | R219 (USN shop, Takealot) to R249.99 (Dis-Chem) | R5.47 | 40 servings |
| 300 g | R279 to R299 (USN shop); R292.99 (Dis-Chem) | about R4.98 | 60 servings |
| 410 g | R269 (Faithful to Nature) to R439.99 (Dis-Chem); R419 (USN shop) | R5.11 at USN shop | retailer gap above 60% |
Cost per dose falls with tub size, and the 410 g tub shows the biggest retailer gap: at R269 it would be R3.28 per 5 g.
How does it compare?
| Product (October 2026) | R per 5 g | Testing claim |
|---|---|---|
| Nutritech 500 g | R2.50 to R3.99 | none stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g | R4.17 | none published |
| Biogen 500 g | R4.45 | Informed Sport stated by seller |
| USN Pure Creatine 300 g | about R4.98 | none stated |
| NPL 500 g (Dis-Chem) | R5.40 | none listed |
USN is dearer per dose than the large-tub rivals, but it is easy to buy and the small 200 g tub suits a first month.
What are the strengths?
- Widely available: USN's own shop, Dis-Chem, Takealot, Faithful to Nature and Clicks (which carries USN products).
- Micronised powder that mixes easily.
- Tags: USN's shop lists Pure Creatine as Halaal and Vegan; these are USN's statements, and we did not see a certificate.
What are the weaknesses?
- No third-party testing is stated for the Pure Creatine pages we read. USN's XTS Hyperdrive pre-workout cites Informed Choice, a different product and a retail-sampling scheme. If you are drug-tested, see what Informed Sport means; Biogen's creatine listing states Informed Sport (a seller claim to verify).
- Price per dose is higher than Biogen, ATP Fitness and Nutritech at their bigger sizes.
- The Dis-Chem page carries the notice that the product is an unregistered medicine not evaluated by SAHPRA, which reflects unfinished regulation rather than a safety finding.
Do not confuse it with USN CreaTest, which adds D-aspartic acid and ashwagandha and is not pure monohydrate; see single-ingredient creatine.
Verdict
Good, dependable creatine, best bought in the 300 g or 410 g tub at the cheapest retailer. If price per dose is your priority, look at Nutritech or ATP Fitness 600 g (a young brand with no published certification and unflavoured only); if batch testing matters, check Biogen's claim. See Biogen vs USN creatine, the best creatine in South Africa and the USN brand page.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 200 g | 200 g | R219-R249.99USN online shop, Oct 2026 | — | R5.47 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 300 g | 300 g | R279-R299USN online shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.98 | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 410 g | 410 g | R269-R439.99USN online shop, Oct 2026 | — | R5.11 | not stated |
| Biogen Creatine Monohydrate Unflavoured 500 g | 500 g | R445Dis-Chem (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | 100 | R4.45 | None (unflavoured) |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.17 | None |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
Related questions
- Biogen vs USN creatine: which is better in South Africa?
- What is the best creatine in South Africa in 2026?
- Is USN a good supplement brand in South Africa?
- What is the cheapest creatine per serving in South Africa?
Sources
- Kreider et al. 2017, ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation in exercise, sport, and medicine (JISSN)
- Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework, Group A
- Informed Sport (LGC) FAQ
- SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Is USN creatine monohydrate any good in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/is-usn-creatine-monohydrate-good-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/is-usn-creatine-monohydrate-good-south-africa.md