Is USN a good supplement brand in South Africa?
Yes, USN (Ultimate Sports Nutrition) is a well-established South African supplement brand: founded in 1999 by Albé Geldenhuys, sold in pharmacies nationwide by 2002, and now exported widely. Its whey is competitively priced (BlueLab 1 kg R689, about R28 per 30 g protein, October 2026), and it states Informed Choice certification, though we have not checked the register.
- USN was founded in 1999 by Albé Geldenhuys and was in pharmacies nationwide by 2002 (Finweek/News24, 2019).
- Fledge Capital bought a 25% stake in USN in January 2022 (BusinessDay).
- USN BlueLab 100% Whey 1 kg is R689 (about R28 per 30 g protein) at the USN shop, October 2026.
- USN states Informed Choice batch testing on product pages; we have not checked the certifier register.
Is USN a good supplement brand in South Africa?
USN is one of South Africa's longest-running and widest-range sports nutrition brands. Here are the verifiable facts and the trade-offs. Prices are October 2026.
What is USN's history?
According to a 2019 Finweek/News24 profile, USN began in 1999 as a side business of founder Albé Geldenhuys, who mixed early formulas himself, and by 2002 its products were in pharmacies and health shops nationwide. The same profile describes expansion into the UK, France, Australia and beyond. BusinessDay reported on 13 January 2022 that Fledge Capital bought a 25% stake; it also reported that African Rainbow Capital holds a shareholding, that Geldenhuys is CEO, and that USN products are available in more than 80 countries.
What does USN sell and what does it cost?
| Product | Price | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Hydrotech Whey, 900 g | R369 to R417.99 | budget whey-wheat blend, 20 g protein per 30 g |
| BlueLab 100% Whey, 1 kg | R689 | 23.6 g protein per 32 g, 15 flavours, about R28 per 30 g protein |
| Isozero Whey Isolate, 805 g | R899 to R909.99 | 20 g per 23 g, about R38.50 per 30 g protein |
| Pure Creatine Monohydrate, 410 g | R269 to R439.99 | about R5.11 per 5 g |
| BlueLab Plant Protein, 900 g | R399 to R474.99 | sucralose, acesulfame-K, steviol glycosides |
The range extends to pre-workouts, BCAAs, hydration and fat-burner products. Retail reach is strong: USN's own shop, Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot.
What are USN's strengths?
- Local heritage and a long track record.
- Published protein per scoop on its website for most whey products.
- Stated Informed Choice and batch testing on product pages, and Halaal on selected flavours (brand statements; we did not check certifier registers).
- Competitive price per gram of protein.
What are the trade-offs?
- Full ingredient lists often sit in downloadable PDFs rather than page text, and sweeteners are not always named.
- USN Hardcore Whey gH lists 27 g protein per 33 g scoop alongside added creatine, which looks high; verify against the label.
- Hydrotech is a whey-wheat blend, so it is not a pure whey.
- Sweetened products use sucralose and acesulfame-K in some lines (the plant protein), so it is not the pick for sweetener avoiders; see the cleanest whey.
- If you are a drug-tested athlete, check the certifier's own batch register rather than relying on a page statement (Informed Sport explained).
How does USN compare with rivals?
See USN vs Evox and Optimum Nutrition vs USN. For single-ingredient, sweetener-free whey, ATP Fitness is a different proposition: cleaner label, but a 2024 start and no published certification.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | R per 5 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | R28.03 | R68.90 | — | not stated |
| USN Hydrotech Whey Protein (900 g) | 900 g | R369-R417.99USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | R20.50 | R45.55 | — | not stated |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | R38.53 | R111.68 | — | not stated |
| USN Pure Creatine Monohydrate 410 g | 410 g | R269-R439.99USN online shop, Oct 2026 | — | — | R5.11 | not stated |
| USN BlueLab 100% Plant Based Protein (900 g) | 900 g | R399-R474.99Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | R24.54 | R52.78 | — | sucralose, acesulfame-K, steviol glycosides |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
- Best Whey Protein in South Africa 2026: 10 Tubs Compared
- Best Whey Isolate in South Africa 2026: 8 Tubs Compared
- Best Clean-Label Protein Powder in South Africa 2026: 7 Unsweetened Picks
- Best Mass Gainer in South Africa 2026: 8 Tubs Compared
Related questions
- USN vs Evox whey: which is better in South Africa?
- Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard vs USN whey: which should you buy in South Africa?
- Biogen vs USN creatine: which is better in South Africa?
- What is the best whey protein in South Africa?
- What is Informed Sport certification and who has it in South Africa?
Sources
- Finweek / News24 (Jun 2019): How homegrown USN became an international giant
- BusinessDay (13 Jan 2022): Fledge Capital buys 25% stake in USN
- USN South Africa online shop
- Informed Sport (LGC) FAQ
- Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius 2019, High protein sports supplements: protein quality and label compliance (J Food Compos Anal 83:103293)
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Is USN a good supplement brand in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/is-usn-a-good-brand-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/is-usn-a-good-brand-south-africa.md