What is a sensible supplement stack for R500 a month in South Africa?
For R500 a month in South Africa, buy creatine monohydrate first (a R222 tub, about R67 a month at R2.22 per 5 g) and spend the rest on protein: roughly R275-R340 buys a month of daily 30 g pea-protein servings, while a R490 tub of NPL Platinum Whey Plus covers about 20 days. Skip pre-workouts, BCAAs and fat burners. Prices are October 2026.
- Pure Natural Options Creatine 500 g (R222) costs about R2.22 per 5 g, roughly R67 a month at a daily 5 g dose.
- NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg (R490) works out at about R23.52 per 30 g protein, so R490 buys about 20 days of a daily 30 g protein serving.
- Faithful to Nature Pea Protein Isolate costs roughly R9-R11 per 30 g protein (R148-R185 per 650 g).
- Black Bull Whey Supreme 908 g (R259-R319 at Clicks) is the cheapest branded 908 g whey we found.
What matters most for R500?
Creatine and protein give the most evidence for the money. Together they cost less than most branded stacks, and spare you the products with the weakest evidence. Food comes first: if R500 is also your food budget, protein-rich staples beat powders.
What are the best three plans?
All prices are October 2026 retailer prices.
Plan A: whey and creatine (month one about R481-R541)
- Pure Natural Options Creatine 500 g, R222 (Knysna Health): R2.22 per 5 g. At 5 g a day this lasts about 100 days, so it costs about R67 a month.
- Black Bull Whey Supreme 908 g, R259-R319 (Clicks): the cheapest branded 908 g whey we found. We did not capture protein per serving for it, so cost per 30 g protein cannot be calculated.
From month two onwards, creatine is nearly free, leaving most of R500 for whey.
Plan B: documented whey (about R490)
NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg, R490 (NPL shop): 25 servings of 40 g with 25 g protein each, about R23.52 per 30 g protein. A daily 30 g protein serving would cost about R706 a month, so R490 buys about 20 days of that. Add creatine next month.
Plan C: plant-based budget (about R340-R490)
- Faithful to Nature Pea Protein Isolate 650 g, R148-R185 (15 g protein per 20 g): roughly R9-R11 per 30 g protein, so about R275-R340 for 30 daily servings.
- Creatine, about R67 a month.
- Optional vitamin D (only if low): Dis-Chem Gold D3 1 000 IU, R160 for 60 tablets, about R80 a month.
Pea protein has less leucine and methionine than whey, so use a larger serving (30-40 g) or a pea-rice blend. Plant powders carried more lead than dairy ones in US testing (Consumer Reports, 2025; no South African brands tested), so vary brands.
Where does ATP Fitness fit?
ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine is R500 for 600 g (R4.17 per 5 g, about R125 a month); its single-ingredient, unsweetened design suits people avoiding additives. ATP's whey (R800-R850 per kg concentrate) does not fit a R500 budget. The honest trade-offs: higher cost per dose than the cheapest creatine, and no published third-party certification.
What should you leave out?
- Pre-workout (R25-R30 a serving for branded options); a coffee does the job.
- BCAAs and glutamine, with weak evidence.
- Multivitamins, fat burners and "testosterone boosters".
How should you use the stack?
- Creatine 5 g a day, every day, any time.
- Protein to fill gaps: aim for 1.4-2.0 g/kg a day in total.
- Buy the big creatine tub once; buy protein by the month.
If you are under 18, pregnant, or have kidney disease, speak to a doctor or dietitian first. See best supplements for beginners, cheapest place to buy and which supplements actually work.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 100 g powder | R per 30 g protein | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | — | R2.22 | — | — | — | not stated |
| Black Bull Whey Supreme Lean Muscle Protein (908 g) | 908 g | R259-R319Clicks (via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | — | — | R32.93 | — | — | not stated |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490NPL shop (npl.za.com), Oct 2026 | 25 | — | R49.00 | R23.52 | — | sucralose |
| Faithful to Nature (FtN) Pea Protein Isolate Powder (650 g) | 650 g | R148-R185Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | — | — | R28.46 | R11.38 | — | none |
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | 60 | — | — | — | R2.67 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.17 | — | — | — | None |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Related questions
- What supplements should a gym beginner buy first in South Africa?
- Where is the cheapest place to buy supplements in South Africa?
- Which supplements actually work and which are a waste of money?
- How do you choose a protein powder in South Africa?
- Is plant protein as good as whey for building muscle in South Africa?
Sources
- Kreider RB et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation. JISSN
- Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN
- OPB/NPR (Oct 2025): Consumer Reports finds lead in popular protein powders
- PriceCheck.co.za: creatine monohydrate listings across SA retailers (retrieved 27 October 2026)
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “What is a sensible supplement stack for R500 a month in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/supplement-stack-on-r500-a-month-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/supplement-stack-on-r500-a-month-south-africa.md