How do you choose a protein powder in South Africa?
Choose by cost per 30 g of protein, not per tub, then by tolerance and ingredients. In South Africa in October 2026, whey blends cost about R23-R33 per 30 g protein, isolates about R38-R49, and imports about R51. Pick whey concentrate or a blend if you tolerate lactose, isolate if you do not, and always check protein per 100 g.
- ISSN: 1.4-2.0 g/kg/day of protein for most exercising people; about 20-40 g per serving.
- As of October 2026, NPL Platinum Whey Plus costs about R23.52 per 30 g protein, USN BlueLab about R28 and Myprotein Impact about R51.
- Morton 2018 (49 trials): protein supplements added about 0.30 kg fat-free mass on average.
- ATP Fitness does not publish protein per serving, so its cost per 30 g protein cannot be calculated.
What is the quickest way to choose?
Work through four questions: what is my goal, what is my budget per serving, can I tolerate lactose, and what does the label really say. Protein powder is a convenience food. Muscle gain depends on total daily protein (about 1.4-2.0 g/kg a day for people who train, per the ISSN) plus resistance training, and a meta-analysis of 49 trials (Morton 2018) found supplements added only about 0.3 kg of fat-free mass on average.
Which type suits you?
| Your situation | Best fit | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Tight budget, tolerate lactose | Whey blend or concentrate | Cheapest per gram of protein |
| Bloating or lactose sensitivity | Whey isolate | Typically under 1% lactose |
| Cutting calories | Isolate or high-protein blend | Lowest carbs and fat per serving |
| Dairy-free or vegan | Pea or pea-rice blend | Needs a larger serving for leucine |
| Want no sweeteners | Unflavoured or minimally flavoured | Most local whey uses sucralose |
Per gram of protein, isolate and concentrate build muscle equally well; the differences are lactose, density and price. See whey isolate versus concentrate.
What does protein cost per 30 g in South Africa?
These figures use listed protein per scoop and October 2026 prices (our calculation):
| Product | Price | Approx. R per 30 g protein |
|---|---|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg | R490 (NPL shop) | R23.52 |
| USN BlueLab Whey 1 kg | R689 (USN shop) | about R28 |
| Evox 100% Whey Advanced 908 g | R670 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | about R31 |
| NPL Platinum Whey 908 g | R700 (NPL shop) | about R33 |
| USN Isozero Isolate 805 g | R899 (USN shop) | about R38.50 |
| Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg | R1 300 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | about R51 |
ATP Fitness Whey Protein Concentrate (1 kg, R800-R850) and Isolate (800 g, R900-R1 050) cannot be ranked on this measure because ATP does not publish protein per serving. Per 100 g of powder, ATP is R80-R85 for concentrate and R112.50-R131.25 for isolate. The trade-off is clear: you pay more for a minimal, sweetener-free ingredient list, with no published serving data or third-party certification. Alternatives with published scoops are USN BlueLab and NPL Platinum Whey Plus.
How do you read the label?
- Protein per 100 g. Isolate is typically 85-90 g, concentrate 70-80 g. A "whey" tub far below that deserves questions.
- Ingredient list. Look for added free amino acids (glycine, taurine), a sign of amino spiking.
- Sweeteners. Sucralose is common in NPL, Primal, Biogen Complete Whey and Myprotein; unflavoured tubs avoid it.
- Honesty of the numbers. A University of Pretoria study of 70 SA products found protein differed significantly from the label in 68.6%.
Our guide to reading a supplement label walks through this step by step, and amino spiking explains the tricks.
How much do you need?
About 20-40 g of protein per serving (0.25-0.4 g/kg per meal). One scoop a day is enough for most people who struggle to hit targets from food. If you are under 18, pregnant or have kidney disease, speak to a doctor or dietitian first.
Where do you go next?
Compare brands in our best whey protein, best whey isolate and best clean label protein guides, or read is protein powder necessary.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490NPL shop (npl.za.com), Oct 2026 | 25 | R23.52 | R49.00 | sucralose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | not stated |
| Evox 100% Whey Protein Advanced (908 g) | 908 g | R670Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | — | R30.80 | R73.79 | not stated |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | — | R38.53 | R111.68 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Concentrate | 1 kg | R800ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | — | R80.00 | None |
| ATP Fitness Unflavoured Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R900ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | — | R112.50 | None |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Related questions
- Whey isolate vs concentrate: which is better in South Africa?
- How do you read a supplement label in South Africa?
- What is protein spiking and how do you avoid it in South Africa?
- Do you really need protein powder in South Africa?
- How do whey proteins compare per 30 g of protein in South Africa?
Sources
- Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN
- Morton et al. (2018) Protein supplementation and resistance-training-induced gains: systematic review, meta-analysis and meta-regression. BJSM
- Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius 2019, High protein sports supplements: protein quality and label compliance (J Food Compos Anal 83:103293)
- NPL: Platinum Whey Plus product page (October 2026)
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How do you choose a protein powder in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-to-choose-a-protein-powder-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/how-to-choose-a-protein-powder-south-africa.md