What supplements should a gym beginner buy first in South Africa?
A gym beginner in South Africa needs at most two: creatine monohydrate (3-5 g a day, about R67-R167 a month) and, only if food falls short, a whey or plant protein. Everything else, such as pre-workouts, BCAAs, fat burners and testosterone boosters, can wait. Spend first on food, training and sleep.
- Creatine monohydrate: 3-5 g a day (ISSN), costing about R67-R167 a month in South Africa (October 2026).
- A protein supplement is only worthwhile if food falls short of about 1.4-2.0 g/kg of protein a day.
- NPL Platinum Whey Plus costs about R23.52 per 30 g protein; USN BlueLab about R28 (October 2026).
- SAIDS recommends against performance supplements for under-18s.
What should a beginner buy first?
Beginners gain muscle from training, enough protein and sleep. Supplements add a small edge on top. In order of value:
- Creatine monohydrate, 3-5 g a day. Strongest evidence, cheapest, safest long-term record (ISSN).
- A protein powder, only if you cannot reach 1.4-2.0 g/kg a day from food. One scoop gives 20-25 g.
- Vitamin D, only if a blood test shows low levels or you get little sun.
- Caffeine, a coffee 60 minutes before training, if you like it.
What does it cost in South Africa?
As of October 2026:
| Item | Product and price | Cost |
|---|---|---|
| Creatine | Pure Natural Options 500 g, R222 (Knysna Health) | R2.22 per 5 g, about R67 a month |
| Creatine | Nutritech 500 g, about R250 (Wellness Warehouse) | R2.50 per 5 g, about R75 a month |
| Creatine | ATP Fitness Micronised 600 g, R500 (ATP shop) | R4.17 per 5 g, about R125 a month |
| Whey blend | NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg, R490 (NPL shop) | About R23.52 per 30 g protein |
| Whey blend | USN BlueLab 1 kg, R689 (USN shop) | About R28 per 30 g protein |
| Vitamin D | Dis-Chem Gold D3 1 000 IU, 60 tablets, R160 | R2.67 a day |
ATP Fitness makes single-ingredient, unsweetened creatine, which suits beginners who dislike additives. The trade-offs: it costs about twice the cheapest option, and ATP does not publish third-party sport certification. Cheaper alternatives from Nutritech or Pure Natural Options are equally effective for most people.
What should a beginner skip?
- Pre-workouts with undisclosed stimulants. A coffee costs less. See is pre-workout safe.
- BCAAs. If you eat enough protein they add nothing; see do BCAAs work.
- Fat burners and "testosterone boosters". Weak evidence, higher risk, contamination history.
- Mass gainers, unless you struggle to eat enough; a milk, oats and peanut-butter shake does the same.
Do you need protein powder at all?
Not necessarily. Eggs, dairy, meat, fish, beans and biltong supply protein. Powder is a convenient top-up. Read is protein powder necessary and how to choose one.
Special cases
- Under 18: food first. Creatine is acceptable for serious, supervised adolescent athletes, but speak to a sports doctor or dietitian first; SAIDS recommends against performance supplements for under-18s.
- Women: the same doses apply; see is creatine safe for women.
- Kidney or liver disease, pregnancy, medication: check with a doctor first.
Where next?
See which supplements actually work, our best creatine and best whey protein comparisons, and a R500-a-month stack.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 5 g | R per 30 g protein | R per 100 g powder | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pure Natural Options Creatine Monohydrate 100% 500 g | 500 g | R222Knysna Health (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | — | R2.22 | — | — | — | not stated |
| Nutritech Creatine Monohydrate 500 g | 500 g | R249.95-R399Wellness Warehouse (listing via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | — | R2.50 | — | — | — | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Micronised Creatine Monohydrate | 600 g | R500ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | — | R4.17 | — | — | — | None |
| NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg) | 1 kg | R490NPL shop (npl.za.com), Oct 2026 | 25 | — | R23.52 | R49.00 | — | sucralose |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | — | — | R28.03 | R68.90 | — | not stated |
| Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets | 60 tablets | R160Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | 60 | — | — | — | R2.67 | not stated |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Related questions
- Which supplements actually work and which are a waste of money?
- Do you really need protein powder in South Africa?
- How do you choose a protein powder in South Africa?
- What is a sensible supplement stack for R500 a month in South Africa?
- Is creatine safe and useful for women?
Sources
- Kreider RB et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: safety and efficacy of creatine supplementation. JISSN
- Jäger R et al. (2017) ISSN position stand: protein and exercise. JISSN
- Maughan RJ et al. (2018) IOC consensus statement: dietary supplements and the high-performance athlete. BJSM 52:439
- SAIDS Supplements Leaflet 2020
- Endocrine Society (2024): healthy adults should take the recommended daily allowance of vitamin D
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “What supplements should a gym beginner buy first in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-supplements-for-beginners-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/best-supplements-for-beginners-south-africa.md