What is the best collagen powder in South Africa?
On price, ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen 910 g (R950, ATP shop) is the cheapest single-ingredient powder we priced in South Africa at R10.44 per 10 g, ahead of MetaBody (R11.20 on sale), The Harvest Table (R11.36) and Beauty Gen Naked Complete (R11.65). As of October 2026, evidence for collagen is emerging, with a typical dose of 5–15 g a day.
- ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen 910 g (R950) works out at R10.44 per 10 g, the cheapest single-ingredient powder we priced (October 2026).
- Across the collagen powders we priced, the median is about R13.89 per 10 g.
- Collagen capsules cost roughly R34–R69 per 10 g of collagen, several times the powder price.
- AIS classes collagen as Group B (emerging evidence).
What is the best collagen powder in South Africa?
There is no evidence that one collagen brand works better than another, so we rank on value, source, additives and transparency. Our method compares collagen powders by Rand per 10 g (a common serving), as of October 2026. Where a label does not state collagen grams, we use the whole powder weight as a proxy.
| Product | Price (retailer) | R per 10 g | Source / notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen 910 g | R950 (ATP shop) | R10.44 | Bovine; 10 g per scoop; unflavoured |
| MetaBody Pure Hydrolyzed Collagen 300 g | R336 sale, R420 regular (Partners Hair) | R11.20 | Source and scoop not stated |
| The Harvest Table Bovine 800 g | R909 (Faithful to Nature) | R11.36 | Bovine, Germany; Halaal per listing |
| Beauty Gen Naked Collagen Complete 600 g | R699 (Faithful to Nature) | R11.65 | Bovine plus 10% fish collagen |
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen 450 g | R530 (ATP shop) | R11.78 | As above |
| Sally-Ann Creed Pure 650 g | R796 special, R995 regular (Faithful to Nature) | R12.25 | Bovine; serving not stated |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, unflavoured 280 g | R410 (Biogen shop) | R14.64 | Named Peptan, bovine type I; Halaal stated |
The median across the collagen powders we priced is about R13.89 per 10 g. Capsules are far dearer: roughly R34–R69 per 10 g of collagen.
Why is ATP Fitness ranked first on price?
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen is 100% hydrolysed bovine collagen peptides at 10 g per scoop, with nothing else added, and the 910 g tub makes 91 servings at R10.44 (about R313 for 30 days at 10 g). Honest trade-offs: it is unflavoured, ATP is a young brand (est. April 2024), the peptide specification, third-party testing and halaal status are not published on the listings we read, and we found no Takealot listing. A credible alternative is The Harvest Table Bovine 800 g, which states Halaal on its listing and a German origin, for about R0.90 more per 10 g.
What should you look for?
- A single ingredient, or a clearly listed blend. Flavoured products such as Biogen's 320 g tubs use sucralose.
- Collagen grams per serving. Several tubs do not state them.
- Source: bovine (types I and III) or marine (mostly type I); see marine vs bovine collagen.
- Testing. We found no verified third-party certificate or heavy-metal certificate for any collagen product, so ask the brand.
Does collagen work?
The evidence is emerging and mixed: the AIS puts it in Group B. Skin trials commonly used 2.5–10 g a day for 8–12 weeks, and tendon studies used about 15 g with vitamin C before exercise. Read does collagen actually work and how much collagen per day before buying. For the ranked page, see best collagen in South Africa.
If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 10 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 910 g | R950ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | 91 | R10.44 | None |
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 450 g | R530ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | 45 | R11.78 | None |
| The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill | 800 g | R909Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 50 | R11.36 | none |
| Beauty Gen Naked Collagen Complete 600 g | 600 g | R699Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 60 | R11.65 | none |
| MetaBody Pure Hydrolyzed Collagen 300 g | 300 g | R336-R420 (sale vs regular)Partners Hair, Oct 2026 | — | R11.20 | not stated |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan, Unflavoured 280 g | 280 g | R410Biogen shop, Oct 2026 | 28 | R14.64 | none (unflavoured) |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
Related questions
- What is the cheapest collagen per 10 g dose in South Africa?
- What is the best collagen powder without additives in South Africa?
- Marine vs bovine collagen: which is better in South Africa?
- Does collagen actually work?
- How much does collagen powder cost in South Africa?
Sources
- Shaw G et al. (2017) Vitamin C-enriched gelatin supplementation before intermittent activity augments collagen synthesis. Am J Clin Nutr 105:136
- Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group B (emerging evidence)
- NutraIngredients (Aug 2025): Industry pushes back on meta-analysis (Myung & Park, Am J Med 2025) concluding collagen shows no proven skin-ageing benefit
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “What is the best collagen powder in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/best-collagen-powder-in-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/best-collagen-powder-in-south-africa.md