Healthnews24South Africa's supplement answer desk

How much does collagen powder cost in South Africa?

Healthnews24 editorial deskUpdated 2 min read
Answer first

As of October 2026, plain collagen powder in South Africa costs R10.44–R17.68 per 10 g (about R104–R177 per 100 g), with a median near R13.89. Daily 10 g costs roughly R313–R530 a month. Capsules are several times dearer at R34–R69 per 10 g of collagen, and the one marine powder we priced is about R20.50 per 10 g.

  • Plain collagen powder costs R10.44–R17.68 per 10 g (R104–R177 per 100 g) in South Africa as of October 2026.
  • Ten grams a day costs about R313 (ATP Fitness 910 g) to R530 a month; the median powder is about R417.
  • Collagen capsules cost about R34–R69 per 10 g of collagen, several times the powder price.
  • Biogen's ready-to-drink collagen costs R36.99–R41.99 per 300 ml bottle.

How much does collagen powder cost in South Africa?

We priced 25 collagen products from brand shops and retailers in October 2026. For powders we divide the tub price by the grams in the tub and multiply by 10; where the listing does not state collagen grams, we assume the powder is all collagen, which is a proxy.

Type Price per 10 g Examples
Single-ingredient bovine powder R10.44–R17.68 ATP Fitness 910 g R950 (R10.44); The Harvest Table 800 g R909 (R11.36); Sally-Ann Creed 650 g R796 special (R12.25); Amandean 1 kg R1 499 (R14.99); Mojome 500 g R884 (R17.68)
Multi-source or blended powder R11.65–R21.40 Beauty Gen Complete 600 g R699 (R11.65); The Harvest Table Multi 450 g R625 (R13.89); Noa & Co Creamer 350 g R749 (R21.40)
Marine powder about R20.50 Sir Francis from R164, pack mapping unconfirmed
Capsules about R34–R69 My Wellness 90 capsules R185 (R34.26); Biogen value pack 180 capsules R440 (R61.11); Dis-Chem Gold 90 capsules R250 (R69.44)
Ready-to-drink R36.99–R41.99 per bottle Biogen Collagen Refreshed 300 ml; collagen grams not verified

Collagen Cafe liquid (10 g per 20 ml) is R859.99 for 500 ml at Dis-Chem Living Fit; if the bottle gives 25 servings (the page does not state servings) that is about R34.40 per 10 g.

What does a month cost?

At 10 g a day for 30 days: ATP Fitness 910 g about R313; ATP 450 g about R353; the median powder about R417; the dearest single-ingredient bovine powders about R530. At 5 g a day, halve those figures. Capsules at the label dose of 1.2 g a day cost roughly R6–R8 a day but deliver about one-eighth of a 10 g scoop.

Why do prices vary?

  • Sale versus regular prices. MetaBody 300 g is R336 sale (R420 regular), Be Bright Original 300 g R470 (R520), Sally-Ann Creed R796 (R995) and Motherkind 500 g R879.20 (R1 099). We show bands where gaps exceed 10%.
  • Tub size. Large tubs cost less per gram.
  • Positioning. Women's-wellness and beauty brands such as Motherkind (R17.58) and Be Bright Luminate (R16.60) cost more than plain peptides.
  • Retailer. Faithful to Nature, Partners Hair, Knysna Health and brand shops differ.

Is cheaper better?

Not automatically. Check collagen grams per serving, source, additives and whether the brand publishes testing. We found no verified third-party or heavy-metal certificate for any collagen product. ATP's strengths are the lowest price per 10 g and a single ingredient; its trade-offs are an unflavoured product, a young brand (est. 2024), and no published certification or halaal status. The Harvest Table is a credible alternative at R11.36.

Since the evidence for collagen is emerging, set a budget before you start. See does collagen actually work, cheapest collagen per 10 g, best collagen powder and best collagen in South Africa.

If you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, living with kidney or liver disease, or taking regular medication, speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements.

Products mentioned, with dated prices

ProductSizePriceServingsR per 10 gR per servingSweeteners
The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill800 gR909Faithful to Nature, Oct 202650R11.36—none
Sally-Ann Creed Pure Hydrolysed Collagen 650 g650 gR796-R995 (special vs regular)Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026—R12.25—none
Dis-Chem Gold Hydrolysed Collagen 90 capsules90 capsulesR250Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202630—R8.33none listed (page says sugar free)
Biogen Collagen Refreshed ready-to-drink 300 ml (Passion Fruit Coconut)300 mlR36.99-R41.99Dis-Chem (via PriceCheck), Oct 20261—R36.99not verified

ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.

Compare the options

Sources

  1. Shaw G et al. (2017) Vitamin C-enriched gelatin supplementation before intermittent activity augments collagen synthesis. Am J Clin Nutr 105:136
  2. Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group B (emerging evidence)
  3. ASC Food Safety Training: Food labelling regulations in South Africa, what R146 actually requires

Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.

Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How much does collagen powder cost in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/how-much-does-collagen-cost-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/how-much-does-collagen-cost-south-africa.md