Healthnews24South Africa's supplement answer desk

Are Dis-Chem and Clicks house-brand vitamins as good as big brands?

Healthnews24 editorial deskUpdated 3 min read
Answer first

We found no evidence that Dis-Chem Gold or Clicks house-brand vitamins are worse than big brands, but also no published testing that shows they are equal. Compare label doses and cost per day instead. As of October 2026, Dis-Chem Gold is the cheapest or near-cheapest option for multivitamins and iron, but not for vitamin D or omega-3.

  • We found no published third-party testing data on Dis-Chem Gold or Clicks vitamins, or on big-brand equivalents.
  • As of October 2026, Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength costs R2.29 to R4.50 a day against R7.08 for Metagenics (both 24 mg iron).
  • Dis-Chem Gold magnesium costs R0.47 to R0.73 more per 100 mg elemental than Tri-Mag or Flora Force.
  • SAHPRA had registered no complementary medicines as of August 2026, so most supplements carry a not-evaluated disclaimer.

Are pharmacy house brands as good as big brands?

Quality is not something we can rank without data. For vitamins, the useful comparisons are what is on the label and what it costs. We found no published third-party testing of Dis-Chem Gold or Clicks house-brand vitamins for content accuracy or contaminants, and none for the big brands either. Neither group publishes third-party sport certification on the pages we read. So "house brand" does not mean lower quality, and it does not mean higher quality.

What we can report is that Dis-Chem Gold appears to be Dis-Chem's own supplement line, priced as the entry-level option in most categories. Some of its pages say the product is an unregistered medicine not evaluated by SAHPRA, which is true of most supplements in South Africa, big brands included, because SAHPRA had registered no complementary medicines as of August 2026.

How do label doses and prices compare?

Prices from Dis-Chem Living Fit and Faithful to Nature, October 2026:

Category Dis-Chem Gold Other brands in our sample What it shows
Multivitamin R3.33 to R4.43 a day Viridian R7.50, Solgar R16.63 Cheaper, but lower in some nutrients (vitamin D 200 IU per softgel)
Vitamin D3, 1 000 IU R2.67 a day New Leaf R2.16, Now Foods R2.31 (special), BEET R2.50 Mid-pack
Magnesium R3.29 and R3.37 per 100 mg elemental Tri-Mag R2.64, Flora Force R2.82 R0.47 to R0.73 more per 100 mg
Omega-3 Supreme R8.06, Salmon Oil+ R10.55 per gram EPA plus DHA Biolife R7.22, Now Ultra R7.66 (special) Supreme is competitive, Salmon Oil+ is not
Iron R2.29 to R4.50 a day for 24 mg elemental Metagenics R7.08 for 24 mg Cheapest in our sample
Zinc R2.67 for about 16.6 mg at two tablets Solgar R2.49 for 22 mg Comparable; different doses

Our sample has Dis-Chem Gold as the cheaper option in iron and multivitamins, roughly equal in zinc and mid-pack in vitamin D, magnesium and omega-3. We did not capture Clicks' own vitamin range. Clicks house-brand products that did appear in our sports sample were BCAA, L-glutamine and pre-workout, which are not vitamins.

What should you check on any vitamin label?

  • Dose per daily serving, not per tablet.
  • Elemental amounts for minerals (see magnesium).
  • Form, for example D3 rather than D2, or EPA plus DHA stated separately.
  • Allergens and shell, such as bovine gelatine or soy.
  • SAHPRA wording, which is a disclaimer, not an approval.
  • Batch and expiry, and storage in South African heat.

What are the limits of this comparison?

It is based on one date, one or two retailers per product and the amounts the labels state; some pages hide nutrition tables in images. We did not test any product. A cheaper per-day price helps only if the dose is right for you. For drug-tested athletes, no product here is a substitute for batch-tested supplements.

For more, see Dis-Chem vs Clicks vs Takealot, how to read a supplement label, and our best-of pages for multivitamins, magnesium and omega-3. Brand details are on the Dis-Chem Gold page.

Products mentioned, with dated prices

ProductSizePriceServingsR per servingSweeteners
Dis-Chem Gold Multivitamin Supreme Active 60 softgels60 softgelsR200Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202660R3.33glycerol (132 mg sugar source per capsule)
Dis-Chem Gold Vitamin D3 1000 IU 60 tablets60 tabletsR160Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202660R2.67not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Magnesium Chelate 90 coated tablets90 tabletsR300Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202660R5.00not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Omega 3 Supreme 60 softgels60 softgelsR290Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 202630R9.67not stated
Dis-Chem Gold Iron High Strength value pack 120 coated tablets120 tabletsR275Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026120R2.29not stated

Compare the options

Sources

  1. Spotlight (14 Aug 2026): Inside the Box with Dr Andy Gray, are complementary medicines effectively regulated in South Africa?
  2. SAHPRA Guideline 7.02: Roadmap for complementary medicines (Dec 2021)
  3. SAIDS (South African Institute for Drug-Free Sport) FAQ: supplements, strict liability, medication check

Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.

Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Are Dis-Chem and Clicks house-brand vitamins as good as big brands?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/do-clicks-and-dis-chem-vitamins-differ-in-quality-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/do-clicks-and-dis-chem-vitamins-differ-in-quality-south-africa.md