Is Collagen Cafe a good collagen brand in South Africa?
Collagen Cafe is a South African liquid collagen giving 10 g of hydrolysed type I and III collagen per 20 ml serving, with vitamin C, magnesium and black-pepper extract, stocked in select Dis-Chem stores. Its 500 ml bottle costs R859.99, about R34.40 per 10 g on our assumption of 25 servings, roughly three times powder. Its collagen source and certifications are not published (October 2026).
- Collagen Cafe liquid gives 10 g of hydrolysed type I and III collagen per 20 ml, plus vitamin C, magnesium and Bioperine.
- Dis-Chem Living Fit lists the 500 ml bottle at R859.99 (October 2026), about R34.40 per 10 g (our calculation at 25 servings).
- Collagen source, certification and third-party testing are not published on the pages we checked.
- Stocked in select Dis-Chem stores (Dis-Chem Living Fit news, 14 Nov 2025).
What is Collagen Cafe?
According to a Dis-Chem Living Fit news item (14 November 2025), Collagen Cafe is a South African liquid collagen supplement newly stocked in select Dis-Chem pharmacies. The product pages give these facts:
- Dose: 10 000 mg (10 g) of hydrolysed type I and III collagen per 20 ml serving.
- Extras: vitamin C, magnesium and Bioperine (a black-pepper extract), included, per the brand's description, to aid absorption and efficacy.
- Flavour: Natural Tangerine; described as zero sugar. The sweetener, if any, is not stated.
- Formats: a 500 ml bottle, and 14-day and 28-day sachet sets.
- Directions: one 20 ml serving a day, straight from the cap or mixed into a drink.
- Warning on the page: consult a doctor before use if pregnant or breastfeeding.
What is not published?
We could not find, as of October 2026: the collagen source (bovine or marine), the full ingredient list, any halaal or other certification, any third-party testing or certificate of analysis, or a SAHPRA statement on the page we checked. These gaps do not mean the product is poor, but they limit what we can say.
How does the price compare?
Dis-Chem Living Fit lists the 500 ml bottle at R859.99 (October 2026). At 20 ml per serving that is about 25 servings (our calculation, not stated on the page), or roughly R34.40 per 10 g dose.
| Format | R per 10 g collagen (October 2026) |
|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen powder, 910 g (R950, ATP shop) | R10.44 |
| The Harvest Table Bovine powder, 800 g (R909, Faithful to Nature) | R11.36 |
| Biogen Peptan powder, 320 g flavoured (about R410 to R420, Biogen shop) | R12.81 |
| My Wellness capsules, 90 (R185, Faithful to Nature) | about R34 |
| Collagen Cafe liquid, 500 ml (R859.99, Dis-Chem Living Fit) | about R34.40 |
So Collagen Cafe provides a trial-sized dose, which many capsules do not, but at about three times the cost of the cheapest powders (powder vs capsules vs liquid).
Strengths, trade-offs and who it suits
Strengths: a full 10 g dose in a small serving; convenient for travel or the office; sold in a mainstream pharmacy chain; vitamin C included.
Trade-offs: price per dose; undisclosed source and certification; extra ingredients you may not need. Black-pepper extract (piperine) can change how the body absorbs and breaks down some medicines, so ask a pharmacist if you take regular medication. Magnesium is a Group C supplement in the AIS framework (not advocated without a clinical reason), and the amount in the product was not captured.
It suits people who value convenience over cost and have checked the label. It does not suit those who need halaal or other certification, want the lowest cost per dose, or avoid undisclosed ingredients.
Is the collagen effective?
Collagen evidence is emerging (AIS Group B), and nothing in the product is unusual relative to powders: 10 g a day is a reasonable trial-style dose (how much collagen per day). We did not find published trials of this specific product.
Alternatives
If cost is the priority, ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen is the cheapest powder we priced; its trade-offs are that it is unflavoured, a young brand (2024), and has no published third-party certificate. See the cheapest collagen per 10 g and our best collagen in South Africa comparison.
The page advises a doctor's check in pregnancy and breastfeeding. Under-18s and people with kidney disease should also get advice first.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 10 g | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Collagen Cafe liquid collagen (500 ml bottle / 14- and 28-day sachet sets) | 500 ml bottle or sachet sets | not published | — | — | zero sugar (sweetener not stated) |
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 910 g | R950ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | 91 | R10.44 | None |
| The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill | 800 g | R909Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 50 | R11.36 | none |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen with Peptan 320 g (Grape / Red Apple / Tropical) | 320 g | R409.99-R419.99Biogen shop, Oct 2026 | 26 | R12.81 | sucralose (all flavours); polydextrose in Grape and Red Apple |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
Related questions
- Collagen powder vs capsules vs liquid: which is best?
- What is the cheapest collagen per 10 g dose in South Africa?
- Where can you buy collagen powder in South Africa?
- How much collagen should you take per day?
- Is collagen halaal in South Africa?
Sources
- Dis-Chem Living Fit (14 Nov 2025): Collagen Cafe now stocked in select Dis-Chem stores
- Dis-Chem Living Fit: Collagen Cafe Liquid Collagen Supplement 500 ml
- Faithful to Nature: collagen category (prices, October 2026)
- Australian Institute of Sport Supplement Framework: Group C
- Biogen: Collagen with Peptan (320 g)
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Is Collagen Cafe a good collagen brand in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/is-collagen-cafe-a-good-brand-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/is-collagen-cafe-a-good-brand-south-africa.md