Collagen powder vs capsules vs liquid: which is best?
For the dose and the price, powder is best: in South Africa it costs about R10 to R18 per 10 g of collagen as of October 2026, against roughly R34 to R69 for capsules and about R34 for liquid. Capsules often supply only 1.2 to 1.8 g a day. Choose capsules or liquid only if convenience matters more than cost.
- Powder costs about R10.44 to R17.68 per 10 g of collagen in South Africa (October 2026).
- Capsules at 400 mg each need 25 a day for 10 g; Dis-Chem Gold and Biogen label only 1.2 g a day.
- Collagen Cafe liquid gives 10 g per 20 ml at about R34.40 per 10 g (R859.99 per 500 ml, our calculation).
- Capsule collagen costs roughly R34 to R69 per 10 g, roughly three to seven times the cheapest powder.
The core comparison
Trial doses of collagen are mostly 5 to 15 g a day, so the first question is how many grams you actually get. Prices are from October 2026 per 10 g of collagen.
| Format | Example | Collagen per day | R per 10 g |
|---|---|---|---|
| Powder | ATP Fitness 910 g, R950 (ATP shop) | 10 g per scoop | R10.44 |
| Powder | The Harvest Table Bovine 800 g, R909 (Faithful to Nature) | 10 g | R11.36 |
| Powder | Mojome Pure Collagen 500 g, R884 | 10 g | R17.68 |
| Capsules | My Wellness 90 capsules, R185 (Faithful to Nature) | 1.8 g per 3 capsules | about R34 |
| Capsules | Biogen Platinum value pack 180, R440 (Dis-Chem via PriceCheck) | 1.2 g per 3 capsules | about R61 |
| Capsules | Dis-Chem Gold 90 capsules, R250 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 1.2 g per 3 capsules | about R69 |
| Liquid | Collagen Cafe 500 ml, R859.99 (Dis-Chem Living Fit) | 10 g per 20 ml | about R34.40* |
| Ready-to-drink | Biogen Collagen Refreshed 300 ml, R36.99 to R41.99 | collagen grams not captured | not calculable |
*Our calculation: the page does not state servings, so we assume 25 servings of 20 ml.
Why capsules disappoint
Capsules in our research hold 400 mg of collagen each. To reach 10 g you would need 25 capsules a day. Label doses of 1.2 g (Dis-Chem Gold, Biogen) are about one-eighth of a 10 g scoop and below the doses used in most trials (how much collagen per day). They suit people who will not take powder, but expect a small dose for a high price.
When does liquid make sense?
Liquids such as Collagen Cafe deliver a trial-style 10 g in 20 ml and add vitamin C, magnesium and black-pepper extract. That is convenient for travel or the office, but it costs about three times as much per 10 g as the cheaper powders, and we could not verify its collagen source (bovine or marine) or any certification (more on Collagen Cafe).
When does powder win?
- You want the lowest cost per dose.
- You are happy to stir it into coffee, a smoothie or oats (hot coffee).
- You prefer a single-ingredient label.
ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen is the cheapest powder per dose we priced. Honest trade-offs: it is unflavoured, a young brand (2024), has no published third-party certificate, and the 910 g tub needs R950 upfront; the 450 g tub (R530) is R11.78 per 10 g. Biogen's Peptan range offers flavours and a named peptide at R12.81 to R14.64 per 10 g.
What about marine or gummies?
Marine collagen is mainly sold as tablets or capsules (New Leaf 60 tablets, R399; Sfera 120 capsules) or one powder, Sir Francis, at roughly R20.50 per 10 g. For gummies see are collagen gummies worth it.
Bottom line
Powder first; liquid if you value convenience and accept the premium; capsules only if you accept a small dose. Our best collagen in South Africa page ranks products by cost and label. Collagen is generally well tolerated, but pregnant or breastfeeding women, under-18s, people with kidney disease and anyone on regular medication should check with a doctor.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | Servings | R per 10 g | R per serving | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ATP Fitness Hydrolysed Collagen | 910 g | R950ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | 91 | R10.44 | — | None |
| The Harvest Table Bovine Collagen Powder 800 g refill | 800 g | R909Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 50 | R11.36 | — | none |
| My Wellness Collagen Peptides 90 capsules | 90 capsules | R185Faithful to Nature, Oct 2026 | 30 | — | R6.17 | none |
| Biogen Platinum Collagen value pack 180 capsules | 180 capsules | R440Dis-Chem (via PriceCheck), Oct 2026 | 60 | — | R7.33 | none listed |
| Dis-Chem Gold Hydrolysed Collagen 90 capsules | 90 capsules | R250Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | 30 | — | R8.33 | none listed (page says sugar free) |
| Collagen Cafe liquid collagen (500 ml bottle / 14- and 28-day sachet sets) | 500 ml bottle or sachet sets | not published | — | — | — | zero sugar (sweetener not stated) |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
Related questions
- What is the cheapest collagen per 10 g dose in South Africa?
- How much collagen should you take per day?
- Is Collagen Cafe a good collagen brand in South Africa?
- Are collagen gummies worth it?
- Where can you buy collagen powder in South Africa?
Sources
- Dis-Chem Living Fit: Dis-Chem Gold Hydrolysed Collagen 90 capsules
- Biogen collagen bulk value pack package insert
- Dis-Chem Living Fit: Collagen Cafe Liquid Collagen Supplement 500 ml
- Faithful to Nature: collagen category (prices, October 2026)
- ATP Fitness shop (shop.atpfit.co.za), prices checked October 2026
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Collagen powder vs capsules vs liquid: which is best?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/collagen-powder-vs-capsules-vs-liquid/. Plain-text version: /answers/collagen-powder-vs-capsules-vs-liquid.md