Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard vs USN whey: which should you buy in South Africa?
For most buyers in South Africa, USN BlueLab 100% Whey is the better buy than Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard: about R28 versus about R47 per 30 g protein (R689 per kg against R1 150 for 900 g, October 2026). Choose Optimum Nutrition if you specifically want that imported product and flavour range and will verify authenticity.
- USN BlueLab costs about R28 per 30 g protein; Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard about R47, using the 29.4 g scoop on ON's UK site (October 2026).
- Gold Standard 900 g is R1 150 at Dis-Chem Living Fit (about R1 278 per kg), against USN BlueLab at R689 per kg.
- The Dis-Chem Gold Standard listing gives 24 g protein per rounded scoop but not the scoop weight or whey type; ON's UK page gives 29.4 g.
- USN states Informed Choice on its page; the Dis-Chem listing for Gold Standard states no certification.
Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard vs USN whey: which should you buy in South Africa?
This is a global brand versus a local one. We compare price, availability and authenticity on verifiable data. Prices are October 2026.
How do they compare?
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey | USN BlueLab 100% Whey | |
|---|---|---|
| Origin | United States (imported) | South Africa |
| Size and price | 900 g, R1 150 (Dis-Chem Living Fit); 2.28 kg, R2 499.99 | 1 kg, R689 (USN shop); 2 kg, R1 399 |
| Price per kg | about R1 278 | R689 |
| Protein per serving | 24 g per rounded scoop (29.4 g on ON's UK site; not printed on the Dis-Chem listing) | 23.6 g per 32 g scoop |
| R per 30 g protein | about R47 (using the 29.4 g UK scoop weight) | about R28 |
| Flavours | 7 listed at Dis-Chem Living Fit | 15 stated |
| Certification stated | none on the listing we saw | Informed Choice and batch testing stated on USN's page; register not checked |
| Whey type | not stated in the listing | blend described as 100% whey |
So Optimum Nutrition costs about 1.7 times more per 30 g protein, or roughly 86% more per kilogram.
Does the extra money buy anything?
Not in protein terms. Per gram, the muscle result depends on total daily protein, not brand (ISSN). The premium pays for an internationally known product, a particular taste profile and a global distribution record. Flavour is subjective; we do not rank taste (best-tasting whey).
What about availability?
Optimum Nutrition is sold at Dis-Chem Living Fit and Takealot. USN is sold on its own shop, at Dis-Chem, Clicks and Takealot, so it is easier to compare prices across retailers.
Is the imported tub more at risk of being fake?
Imported products sold through marketplaces carry a higher counterfeit risk than a local brand sold in its own shop, which is why Optimum Nutrition publishes authentication guidance (batch code, rim seal, dates two years apart). Buying from Dis-Chem or Takealot "sold by Takealot" lowers that risk. See is Optimum Nutrition original and how to spot fake whey.
Which should you pick?
- Best value and most published detail: USN BlueLab.
- Prefer the global benchmark and accept the cost: Optimum Nutrition.
- Want no sweeteners at all: neither. See the cleanest whey; ATP Fitness is one option, with the trade-offs of no published protein per serving, no third-party certification and a 2024 start.
Read the full best whey protein comparison.
Safety
Whey is milk protein. If you have a milk allergy or kidney disease, or are under 18, speak to a doctor or dietitian first.
Products mentioned, with dated prices
| Product | Size | Price | R per 100 g powder | R per 30 g protein | Sweeteners |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Whey (900 g) | 900 g | R1 150Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026 | R127.78 | — | not stated |
| USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg) | 1 kg | R689USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | R68.90 | R28.03 | not stated |
| USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g) | 805 g | R899-R909.99USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026 | R111.68 | R38.53 | not stated |
| ATP Fitness Madagascan Vanilla Whey Protein Isolate | 800 g | R950ATP Fitness shop, Oct 2026 | R118.75 | — | None |
ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.
Compare the options
- Best Whey Protein in South Africa 2026: 10 Tubs Compared
- Best Whey Isolate in South Africa 2026: 8 Tubs Compared
- Best Clean-Label Protein Powder in South Africa 2026: 7 Unsweetened Picks
- Best Mass Gainer in South Africa 2026: 8 Tubs Compared
Related questions
- Is Optimum Nutrition sold in South Africa original or fake?
- USN vs Evox whey: which is better in South Africa?
- Is USN a good supplement brand in South Africa?
- Is imported whey cheaper than local whey in South Africa?
- What is the best whey protein in South Africa?
Sources
- ISSN Position Stand: Protein and Exercise (Jäger et al., JISSN 2017)
- Optimum Nutrition: Product authentication tips
- USN South Africa online shop
- Dis-Chem Living Fit: Whey protein category
- Optimum Nutrition UK: Gold Standard 100% Whey product page (29.4 g rounded scoop, 24 g protein; UK listing)
Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.
Cite this page: Healthnews24, “Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard vs USN whey: which should you buy in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/optimum-nutrition-vs-usn-whey-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/optimum-nutrition-vs-usn-whey-south-africa.md