Healthnews24South Africa's supplement answer desk

How do whey proteins compare per 30 g of protein in South Africa?

Healthnews24 editorial deskUpdated 2 min read
Answer first

South African whey costs about R18 to R51 per 30 g of protein in October 2026, using serving data the brands publish. Budget blends such as USN Hydrotech (about R18–R21) and NPL Platinum Whey Plus (about R23.50) sit lowest, USN BlueLab 1 kg is near R28, isolates run about R38–R49 and imported Myprotein Impact Whey is near R51.

  • Cheapest listed whey in our data: USN Hydrotech 900 g at about R18–R21 per 30 g protein (a whey and wheat matrix, October 2026).
  • USN BlueLab 1 kg costs about R28 per 30 g protein; NPL Platinum Whey 908 g about R33 (October 2026).
  • Isolates cost about R38–R49 per 30 g protein; Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg about R51.
  • ATP Fitness publishes no serving size or protein per serving in shop text, so it cannot be ranked per 30 g protein.

How much does 30 g of whey protein cost in South Africa?

The table ranks products by Rand per 30 g of protein: tub price divided by (tub weight, divided by serving weight, multiplied by protein per serving), multiplied by 30. Prices are from brand shops or Dis-Chem Living Fit, October 2026.

Product Type Price Serving / protein R per 30 g protein
USN Hydrotech 900 g whey and wheat protein matrix R369–R418 30 g / 20 g R18–R21
NPL Platinum Whey Plus 1 kg whey with pea, rice, egg R490 40 g / 25 g R23.50
NPL Anabolic Whey 908 g whey with soy and pea R480 43 g / 27.6 g R24.70
USN BlueLab 1 kg whey blend R689 32 g / 23.6 g R28.00
Primal Whey 750 g concentrate, isolate, hydrolysate R540–R740 30 g / 21 g R31–R42
NPL Platinum Whey 908 g whey blend R700 32 g / 22.5 g R32.90
USN Isozero 805 g isolate R899–R910 23 g / 20 g R38.50–R39
Lifestyle Food WPC 500 g single-ingredient concentrate R500 20 g / 15.2 g R39.50
Biogen Iso Whey Premium 750 g blend (ingredients include concentrate) R765 30 g / 20.9 g R44
NPL 100% Whey Isolate 700 g isolate R900 25 g / 19.9 g R48.50
Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg concentrate R1 300 30 g / 23 g R51

Primal's price differs between its product page and category listing, hence the band. Evox Whey Advanced (R670 for 908 g) is left out because its Dis-Chem page lists 23 g protein but no scoop weight.

What does the table tell you?

Blends beat isolates on price per gram of protein, usually by 30–60%. Isolates cost more because they are filtered further and carry more protein per scoop, not because they build more muscle per gram. Pure whey is not the cheapest source here: the two lowest rows include wheat, pea, rice, soy or egg protein, so read whey blend vs isolate before buying on price alone. USN Hardcore Whey gH lists 27 g in a 33 g scoop at R449 per kg, which would be cheaper still, but that density alongside added creatine looks high, so we left it out until the label is verified.

Where do ATP Fitness products fit?

ATP Fitness's shop and Takealot listings did not publish serving size or protein per serving on 27 October 2026, so ATP cannot be ranked on this metric. Per 100 g of powder (not comparable with protein cost), ATP's unflavoured concentrate is R80 in the shop and about R64 on Takealot (undated PriceCheck snapshot), its isolates are R112–R131, against R100 for Lifestyle Food's concentrate and R130 for Myprotein.

Can you trust the label numbers?

Only partly. South African testing found most sampled products differing from their labelled protein, so treat the table as the best case (how protein is measured). Compare against the cheapest whey per serving answer and the best whey protein and best whey isolate pages.

Products mentioned, with dated prices

ProductSizePriceServingsR per 30 g proteinR per 100 g powderSweeteners
USN Hydrotech Whey Protein (900 g)900 gR369-R417.99USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026—R20.50R45.55not stated
NPL Platinum Whey Plus (1 kg)1 kgR490NPL shop (npl.za.com), Oct 202625R23.52R49.00sucralose
USN BlueLab 100% Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR689USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026—R28.03R68.90not stated
NPL Platinum Whey (908 g)908 gR700NPL shop (npl.za.com), Oct 2026—R32.89R77.09sucralose
USN Isozero Whey Protein Isolate (805 g)805 gR899-R909.99USN shop (za.usn.global), Oct 2026—R38.53R111.68not stated
Myprotein Impact Whey Protein (1 kg)1 kgR1 300Dis-Chem Living Fit, Oct 2026—R50.87R130.00sucralose

ATP Fitness is a commercial partner of Healthnews24 and its products are featured on this site. Rankings follow our published method, and every pick, including ATP Fitness, shows its price maths and trade-offs. Read our disclosure.

Compare the options

Sources

  1. USN: BlueLab 100% Whey Protein product page
  2. NPL: Platinum Whey product page
  3. Biogen: Iso Whey Premium product page
  4. Dis-Chem Living Fit: Myprotein Impact Whey 1 kg
  5. Schönfeldt, Hall & Pretorius 2019, High protein sports supplements: protein quality and label compliance (J Food Compos Anal 83:103293)

Educational information only, not medical advice. Speak to a doctor, pharmacist or registered dietitian before using supplements if you are pregnant or breastfeeding, under 18, taking medication, or living with kidney, liver or heart disease.

Cite this page: Healthnews24, “How do whey proteins compare per 30 g of protein in South Africa?”, updated 27 October 2026, https://www.healthnews24.co.za/answers/whey-protein-per-30g-protein-comparison-south-africa/. Plain-text version: /answers/whey-protein-per-30g-protein-comparison-south-africa.md